Liebster Award – Share the Love

I’m fairly new to the blog world, so this is the first I’ve heard of the Liebster Award – a way to recognize other bloggers. Erin (Sweet Sweat) nominated me – Thanks Erin! I love reading her blog, and can’t help but feel inspired and motivated when I do. So, now I’ll answer the 11 questions she asked me and try to spread the blog love to some other awesome bloggers.

liebsterblogaward-300x300

What was the inspiration for your blog and its name?

I played around with a lot of options for blog names. I went with “On A Fun Run” because it highlighted the fact that this is primarily a running blog, but it’s also about me trying enjoy life.

Why did you start blogging?

Last fall, I signed up for an endurance training program called Team Challenge where you train for a half marathon and raise funds for the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America. I had been thinking about starting a blog for awhile, and having a way to document my training and fundraising and keep my family and friends updated on my progress seemed like a good reason to go for it.

What’s your favorite topic to write about?

Running. I wasn’t expecting to love running and races as much as I do. Part of that is the stellar running community I’ve found and I enjoy sharing my experiences and hear from other runners of all abilities so I can learn from them and get better.

What keeps you motivated?

My competitive nature keeps me coming back to training so I can get faster and run farther. I’m also motivated by the high running give me (the runner’s high is no joke, and it’s easy to get addicted). I also love the fact that running is a great workout and can help me maintain my weight loss (hopefully more on that in a future post).

If you could have a super power, what would it be?

Teleportation. Snap your fingers and you can go anywhere in the world.

What’s your biggest fitness goal, or A race, this year?

I signed up for the TC Looney Challenge. It takes place in early October (during the Twin Cities Marathon weekend). It’s a 10K and 5K on Saturday and the TC 10 mile on Sunday. Three races in two days will be a challenge, but I’m really excited for it and plan to focus my summer training on these races.

Describe your perfect day.

My perfect day always happens when I’m in Myrtle Beach. Wake up in the morning and have breakfast and coffee on the balcony looking at the ocean. Throw on my bathing suit and spend the day relaxing on the beach. Go for a walk (or run), take a dip in the ocean, read, listen to music, etc. Then get cleaned up to head out for dinner (which hopefully includes some hush pupppies :)) Get back to the condo and sit on the balcony again listening to the waves crash on the shore before going to bed so I can do the same thing all over again the next day!

image_6

Do you have a mantra, and if so, what is it?

No specific mantra. Things like “You got this hill” and “Come on, halfway done” do cross my mind during runs.

What’s your go-to dinner?

Quesadilla

If you could give your 16-year-old self a piece of advice, what would it be?

Live in the moment and don’t stress too much about the future. Things will work out and you’ll miss out on good things happening right now.

Are you going to pass the torch and nominate 11 other bloggers?

Yes, but I know many of these have already been nominated by others, so don’t feel obligated to post again. Just wanted to highlight some of the blogs I enjoy reading!

And the nominees are…

  1. Finding a Balance
  2. I Eat, Therefore I Run
  3. Katie Looking Forward
  4. Kate Runs This
  5. Jess Runs
  6. Cooking with a Wallflower
  7. Forward is a Pace
  8. Erica House
  9. Running on Healthy
  10. Grab your Kicks
  11. Ali on the Run

My questions…

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. What’s your favorite post you’ve ever written?
  3. Describe your ‘happy place.’
  4. What’s your favorite thing to splurge on?
  5. What’s your favorite workout?
  6. Name 5 songs on your playlist right now.
  7. If you could have a super power, what would it be?
  8. Do you have a favorite quote?
  9. What’s your go-to dinner?
  10. If you could give your 16-year-old self a piece of advice, what would it be?
  11. Are you going to pass the torch and nominate 11 other bloggers?

The rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you.
  • Answer the 11 questions given to you.
  • Nominate 11 other bloggers (generally with the same number of followers, though it can be tough to tell; ideally less than 500).
  • Post 11 questions for your nominees to answer.
  • Comment on your nominees’ blogs to let them know you nominated them.
  • Have fun spreading the blogging love!

3 thoughts on “Liebster Award – Share the Love

  1. Thanks for the shout-out! I enjoy reading your blog, too, and your perfect day sounds pretty fantastic! Nothing like waking up and falling asleep to crashing ocean waves 🙂

Leave a comment