Twin Cities Marathon Training – Week 7

Another week down! It started well, even with a busy week. But the long run was kind of a bust. Looking to turn that around next week.

Monday – 4.02 miles (9:34/mile)

Your standard 4 mile run after work.

Tuesday – 4 miles (9:25/mile)

I was expecting to make this a rest day because I actually had flag football practice in the evening. I’m playing in a charity flag football tournament in a couple of months, and my team is trying to actually win a game this year. 😉 Unfortunately, we didn’t have many people who could make practice, so it was pretty short.

I was hungry on my way home. I made myself a deal, I could get Chipotle if I did my 4 mile run before I ate it. Well, I did! It was a good trade. And it meant that I didn’t have to get up early on Wednesday to do the run, so win – win – win!

Wednesday – rest

I met some friends for a happy hour/grill out after work. It was really hot during the day, but became really nice in the evening so we could sit outside to eat and chat.

Thursday – 7.02 miles (9:34/mile)

The evening air was cool and clouds covered the sky. It felt more like fall. Perfect conditions for a 7 mile run. I made my way across a bridge over the Mississippi River for some river views.

The downside of this route is the hills, but my legs felt good even after a long, stressful day.

Friday – rest

My sister and I headed out to dinner and a little shopping. Then I rested up and tried to go to bed at a decent hour so I could be up bright and early for my long run.

Saturday – 14 miles (9:54/mile)

I knew it was going to be a hot day – sunny and in the 90’s. I planned to get to the chain of lakes by 8 a.m. so I could get started. When I stepped out of my car, I could feel that it was already a little warm, but I was ready to run.

This is pretty much how it went…

Miles 1-5: “Ok, feeling good. First half of the run underway. Made it around a couple of the lakes. It’s a little warm, but keep moving.”

Miles 6-8: “Well, halfway done. Kinda tired, still warm, but you’re halfway. Keep moving.”

Miles 9-11: “Now I’m really tired. Need to get back to Lake Harriet and there will be more shade. Try not to walk.”

Miles 12-14: “This just blows. It’s hot. I’m tired. I just want to quit! No, keep moving even if you do some walking in between. But this still really sucks.”

Not my finest run. Proud that I kept going and didn’t just call it quits when things got really hard. Hoping that training will come in handy around mile 22 of the marathon when I’m having some of the same mental battles.

In general, I might need to just make myself get up earlier for long runs when it’s going to be that hot.

Sunday – 38 minute bike ride; 22 minute walk

I got up in the morning and went to the farmer’s market to get some fresh veggies. I can’t believe this was my first trip there this summer! I got some beets, carrots, and zucchini that I roasted for dinner.

But before doing food prep and cooking, I pumped up the tires on my bike and hit the trail for some cross training. I rounded out my hour by walking for 1.36 miles to change it up a little.

Looking forward to the next week of training to see what progress I can make!

One thought on “Twin Cities Marathon Training – Week 7

Leave a Reply

