Twin Cities Marathon Training – Week 6

I’m 1/3 of the way through training! Oh, how time flies. But I’m also kind of glad I still have 2/3 of the plan to go. 🙂

Monday – rest

Tuesday – 6.02 miles (9:32/mile)

It was the 4th of July, so I slept in a little and spent a couple lazy hours watching some Wimbledon matches. I headed out mid-morning for my run. It was a little warm by that time, but I got in a good 6 miles.

Happy Independence Day!

In the evening, I met up with my sister and a couple of friends for some 4th of July festivities. It was a beautiful night, so we headed to a park that had music and food trucks before watching a great fireworks display!

I love fireworks!

Wednesday – 3.1 miles (9:43/mile)

This run was a little bit of a struggle. For some reason, my right hamstring was really sore and tight. I felt a little tightness in my right glute during my 6 mile run the day before, but I didn’t think much of it. Apparently, it affected my legs more than I thought.

Thursday – rest

I spent the night cheering on the Minnesota Lynx! They beat the LA Sparks in a rematch of last year’s WNBA finals. They are some pretty impressive athletes!

Friday – 3 miles (9:34/mile)

An easy 3 mile run. Even with a rest day in between, my right hamstring was still feeling a bit tight. I did some extra stretching and foam rolling to help it out before my Saturday long run.

Saturday – 9 miles (9:38/mile)

I fully intended to get up and start my run about 8 a.m. It was a good plan except for the fact that I set my alarm for the wrong time, so I didn’t start my run until 9 a.m. Whoops.

I expected that my legs would need a couple miles to warm up, but they still felt pretty tired and heavy throughout the run. I’m thankful this was a step-back week and I didn’t need to do more than 9 miles. On the bright side, I explored a part of the path that I don’t normally take for some new views.

Sunday – 2.71 mile walk

There was a threat of rain, but lucky it stayed away so I could meet up with a friend and her pup for a walk around Lake Nokomis! It was some nice, easy cross training to give my tired legs a bit of a break.

This step-back week was kind of a milestone, because I won’t have a long run in single digits again until the week before the marathon! Bring on the next phase of training!

Leave a Reply

