Twin Cities Marathon Training – Week 5

Well, my weekday runs this week were all good, but uneventful. It was a pretty chill week as far as stuff going on after work as well. So, this recap is pretty short.

Monday – rest

Tuesday – 6 miles (9:25/mile)

Wednesday – 3.08 miles (9:26/mile)

Thursday – rest

Friday – 3 miles (9:36/mile)

Saturday – 50 minute spin class

I met a friend for a Saturday morning spin class. It was Beyonce themed, so some good music! I got in a good workout, but tried not to tire out my legs too much with a long run the next day.

We grabbed a yummy brunch after class and then I headed home to get in some of the Saturday errands.

In the evening, I stopped by a friend’s BBQ but didn’t stay out super late so I could set an early alarm for my long run.

Sunday – 12 miles (9:30/mile)

I headed to the chain of lakes again for this long run. I wasn’t sure how the legs would feel after spin, but they weren’t as sore/tired as I thought. It only took a mile or two before they felt warmed up. I felt great for the vast majority of the run. My legs started to get fatigued in the last 2 miles, but I was able to keep up my pace. It was probably some good training for running on tired legs.

The temps were a little warmer than last week, but definitely not as hot as the first two weeks of training. Still really nice for a long run.

In the evening, my family and I headed to the St. Paul Saints game. It was a gorgeous night for baseball!

After the game, they had a big food truck rally. Thirteen trucks set up in the outfield. We tried Dough Dough. It basically serves cookie dough in a cup!

When it got dark, they did a fireworks show. I’m such a sucker for fireworks — I love them. Great way to have an early 4th of July celebration!

Hope you all have a fun and safe 4th of July!

One thought on “Twin Cities Marathon Training – Week 5

Leave a Reply

