Vancouver Half Training – Week 9

We’re into October and the half is getting closer and closer! I felt like I got back on track with strength training last week. Hope I can keep it up this week.

Monday – 26 minute bike ride

I pulled my bike out of the garage (after years) and pumped up the tires. I’ve been wanting to do this forever and just haven’t done it. Thought it would be a nice cross-training alternative while the weather is still nice.

I took it out for a short ride to test it out. I went 3.82 miles. Then I came in and got my leg workout done.

Tuesday – 5.18 miles (9:40/mile)

Rain came through, so I was stuck with the treadmill for 5 miles. My legs were pretty tired for most of the run. Not as loose as the 5 miles I did on the treadmill the Friday before.

Wednesday – rest

I skipped a regular workout for some retail cardio (a.k.a. fall clothes shopping). Gotta get ready for the cool temps with some new sweaters!

Thursday – 7.02 miles (9:36/mile)

It was a beautiful day, but I was tired after work. I set out saying I’d do at least 6 miles since I got a little bit of a later start than I had planned. I managed to push it to 7 and felt good through the run.

Friday – 4.57 miles (9:40/mile)

I tried to get in a shorter, easy run since I skipped Wednesday, but didn’t want to do too much since Saturday was going to be a busy workout day.

Saturday – 30 minute spin class and 11.08 miles (9:34/mile)

Yep, you read that right. I got up and headed to a spin4 launch party at CycleBar on Saturday morning. (More on spin4 coming later this week!) Part of the event included a free 30-minute intro to cycle class. I didn’t pedal as hard as I normally would since I was trying to save my legs for my long run, but still had a great time in the class!

img_1416

Later in the afternoon, I headed to the lakes for my long run. I started at Lake Harriet and did 2 laps around the lake before heading over to Lake Calhoun for a lap. I finished up the last mile on Lake Harriet.

img_1420

I’m not used to doing my long run in the middle of the afternoon, but it went pretty well. My legs were definitely tired — I’m sure from cycling and from running on Thursday and Friday. Took a little bit to warm up and was tough in a few spots, but the nice weather helped me push through.

Sunday – rest

Well, it wasn’t a total rest day because we did a lot of walking and standing at the Ryder Cup!

fullsizerender

I spent the day on the course with my family. We hung out at hole 4 and watched all 12 pairs come through during the match play. Then we wandered around to a couple other holes, grabbed food, and did a little shopping.

img_1453

There were tons of people there! Getting back to the parking shuttles was insane with a sea of people, but it was worth it to be outside on a gorgeous day and witness the USA winning back the cup!

img_1431

It was a long day, but a great way to cap off the week!

Are you a golf fan? Who’s ready for fall weather?

Leave a Reply

