Vancouver Half Training – Week 7

Finally getting back at the weekly recaps. We’re passed the halfway point in the training cycle, so mileage is getting higher, but so far feeling good.

Monday – cross training

I did a leg workout, as my cross training for the day.

Tuesday – 4.76 miles (9:33/mile)

My hamstring was bugging me a little during Monday’s leg workout. Felt tight and sore. Could’ve been the flag football and busy previous week, but I wasn’t sure what this run would be like. I ended up being able to do all of the miles I needed to and kept a good pace with no issues.

Wednesday – rest day

I picked up a friend and we headed to book club for the evening.

Thursday – 7 miles (9:28/mile)

I had the day off from work, so it was easy to fit in a longer weekday run. I also managed to get in an ab workout.

Friday – 3 miles (9:07/mile)

We had the Run@Work 5K over our lunch hour, so I ran with Kate. We started somewhere in the middle of the corral and planned to run between a 9:00-9:30 pace. The course starts on a steep uphill, but you’re met with an immediate downhill and then it got flat for a while. It was an out and back course, so we had to deal with the hills one last time, but it ended with a downhill. Overall, a great race except they didn’t have cups at the finish line for water.

runatwork5k

I took the afternoon off from work, so I headed home and did a little strength training.

sweaty selfie
sweaty selfie

Then I met up with Hyedi to hang with her and her son at a nearby playground. So cute watching him explore!

Saturday – 4.01 miles (9:35/mile)

I got up and did a short, easy run before heading to the farmers market to pick up some veggies for the week. Also had to get a delicious Rise Bagel and Arrowhead coffee.

fultonfarmmkt

I spent the rest of the day grocery shopping, cleaning and relaxing.

Sunday – 9.06 miles (9:29/mile)

I headed to the lakes for a change of scenery. I planned to park at Lake Harriet, but several streets were closed for a bike tour, so I changed my plan and headed to Lake Calhoun. Legs felt pretty fresh even though I’d had several run days in a row. By the last 2 miles my legs were feeling it a little, but I was also feeling thirsty, so might have been a touch dehydrated. I guzzled down my water when I was done and headed home.

Time to rest up before the start of another week!

Leave a Reply

