Back at it

No, I haven’t dropped off the face of the earth. I’ve just had a really busy few weeks and haven’t made time for blogging. I had a big work event to prepare for that called for some long hours and had to finalize some things for a charity event last weekend (more on that in a minute).

I’ve still been keeping up with my training despite the busy schedule and am feeling pretty good. I’m over halfway through the training cycle already! My hamstring has been bugging me a little recently, so I’m keeping an eye on that. It doesn’t hurt when I run, but I can feel some tightness/soreness in it when I stretch and felt it when I was doing lunges the other day.

I finally started a strength training program! I’ve been saying I want to get stronger for a long time, and now I have a plan to follow that I’m hoping will help my running so I can avoid some of those little injuries. I can already tell that certain exercises are easier to do now that I’m into week 3 of the plan.

This past weekend, I got to enjoy a different kind of workout by playing in a flag football tournament to benefit the Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation of America (CCFA).

football3

The Touch of Football event took place at the new U.S. Bank Stadium. Even as a Packers fan, I could appreciate the nice, new stadium. My team played 3 games. We weren’t very good, but we had fun anyway!

football2

football6

By last Sunday I was exhausted. My entire body was sore. Probably partially from football and partially from just being totally spent after going full steam all week. I still managed to get in a 6 mile run since I had skipped it earlier in the week, but then tried to relax for most of the day.

Still working on recovering and getting back to my regular routine. Will try to pick up the weekly recaps next week!

Leave a Reply

