Garry Bjorklund Half Training – Week 12

The final week of training was pretty relaxed and definitely fewer miles to give my legs some rest before the big day.

Monday – rest

Tuesday – 26 minute elliptical 

I usually meet up with Hyedi and Kate for our Tuesday run, but storms were headed our way in the evening, so we cancelled. Sad not to do one more training run with them, but I had been planning to do an elliptical workout in place of a run this week anyway. The rainy evening made it easier to do that on Tuesday.

The storm did pass and the sky was actually very pretty before sunset.

after storm

Wednesday – 3.02 miles (9:25/mile)

Thursday – 2.07 miles (9:42/mile)

Meh. This was not a good run. I was only planning to do 2 miles, so thankfully it was short. My legs were super tired and heavy the whole time. It was just a struggle. Sort of disconcerting a couple of days before the race, but I held out hope that a rest day in between would be enough.

Friday – rest

I took the day off of work since I’d be heading up to Duluth. I got some errands done in the morning and then headed out around noon. Hit some lovely traffic at one point — thanks summer construction. Luckily I didn’t have to be in it for too long. I made it to Duluth and headed straight for the expo to get my packet.

expo

packet

Then I met up with friends where I was staying and we ate some spaghetti to carbo-load for the day. Three of us were doing the half and one was doing the marathon. Two others were our runner support for the weekend, and they were awesome!

Saturday – Race Day!

A full race recap is coming, but the short story is I finished and PR’d!

gb medal

We spent the rest of the day relaxing and spending some time outside. We celebrated our races with a little bubbly, too!

bubbly

Sunday – 2.5 mile walk

My family and I headed to Lake Nokomis to celebrate Father’s Day, so we took a leisurely walk around the lake before firing up the grill for lunch. It was a hot day, but there was a breeze that kept it comfortable. We grabbed some ice cream later in the afternoon to help keep cool. 🙂

All in all, I’d say this was a very good training cycle. I’ve already got two half marathons under my belt for the year and one more to come in the fall. I’ve got a little bit of a break from formal training right now, which I’m kind of looking forward to. I’ll still run, but won’t have to follow a plan until later in the summer. Gonna do my best to get outside an enjoy the MN summer!

What races do you have this summer? What are your summer plans?

4 thoughts on “Garry Bjorklund Half Training – Week 12

  1. Congratulations on meeting your goals through a great training schedule & support of family & friends!! Enjoy your MN summer!!

  2. I love following your blog! Hope you’ll keep it up even though you’re through your recent training cycle for the race in Duluth! CONGRATULATIONS! What an awesome accomplishment for you! I read another post of a Marathoner who didn’t fare as well – everything that could go wrong did – an hour delay in that Summer construction traffic you mentioned so she had no time to look around at the Expo, late to the starting line on Race Day due to needing a potty break, and then she had a really tough time with the heat and didn’t qualify for Boston as she’d hoped. BUT YOU PR’d!! GOOD JOB!!!! Looking forward to your Race Recap!

    • Thank you so much! It was a good race, and I would definitely do it again. The weather was tough, for sure! Sounded like it really affected a lot of marathoners. Always a gamble with summer races.

Leave a Reply

