Girls on the Run 5K Race Entry Giveaway!

I’ve talked about Girls on the Run before, and I really can’t say enough good things about it.

Photo from GOTR
Photo from GOTR

You might remember that I attended the Limitless Potential Luncheon a couple of weeks ago to support GOTR and got to hear Kathrine Switzer speak. I also ran their fall 5K last November as a running buddy and had an incredible time!

gotr1
Fall 5K

In case you’re not familiar with them, here’s a quick overview:

Girls on the Run is a youth development program for girls in the 3rd through 8th grade. The program aims to strengthen girls’ physical, mental, social and emotional competencies to positively navigate life experiences. Coaches follow a curriculum to teach life skills through interactive lessons and running games. The program ends with the girls being ready to complete a celebratory 5K.

If you liked what you read, take advantage of this chance to win a free entry to the Girls on the Run Twin Cities spring 5K! It’s happening Saturday, June 4 at Normandale Community College.

Running Buddy 1
Photo from GOTR

The energy of the girls before, during and after the race is infectious. You can’t help but get excited to run when you see them getting their faces painted, dancing to music and laughing with their friends. It really is a reminder of the joy, fun and confidence running can bring you.

I know I can get caught up in looking at my watch to hit a certain pace and following a training plan to prepare for a race, but the truth is I simply love to run. This race and the whole Girls on the Run program really focuses on highlighting the good things about running. I love that these girls get to experience that at a young age and I truly appreciate the reminder for me to sit back and enjoy the run.

20150530_GOTR_RZ_351
Photo from GOTR

Entering to win the race entry is simple: Just leave a comment below telling me why you love running! Submit your comment by midnight Tuesday, May 24. I’ll announce the winner on May 25. Good luck!

5 thoughts on “Girls on the Run 5K Race Entry Giveaway!

  1. What a wonderful organization & cause developing strong, confident girls and women!! Thank you for sharing their story

  2. I will be out of town the 4th but am commenting anyway!

    One of the many reasons that I love running is because of all the great people I have met through it! Running friends, blog friends, etc. it’s just an awesome community that I am glad to be a part of.

    Have fun at the GOTR event this year!

Leave a Reply

