Garry Bjorklund Half Training – Week 7

Another week down! It was a good week. My Achilles has still be giving me some trouble on and off when I run. I’m keeping an eye on it and might add in something more low-impact or take an extra rest day if needed.

Monday – rest

Tuesday – 5 miles (9:27/mile)

I met Kate and Hyedi for our weekly run. I had a 5 mile run on my plan for the week and they joined me for the whole thing even though their plan only called for 4.5 miles. Thanks, ladies! We kept a good pace. I felt like I was dragging for a lot of the run, but I made it.

Wednesday 3 miles (10:00/mile)

It was kind of a rainy day, so I decided to just hit the treadmill for 3 easy miles.

Thursday – 3.03 miles (9:35/mile)

Friday – rest

It was a rest day, but it was a night packed with fun. I met a couple of friends for dinner at Butcher and the Boar. We were able to snag a table in the beer garden–which is thankfully enclosed to guard from the windy, cool day. I tried the cheddarwurst and we shared the red hot brussel¬†sprouts (not pictured). Both were delicious!

butcherboar

After that, we headed down to Brave New Workshop. The show was hilarious! My cheeks were hurting from laughing so much.

bnw

Saturday – 9.01 miles (9:24/mile)

Hyedi and I headed over to Mill City Running in the morning for their monthly assisted long run. They have routes of varying distances and provide aid stations. We needed to do 9 miles, so we did an out and back route.

9miles6

We left from the store and headed across the Stone Arch Bridge. Then we made our way into downtown and under Target Field along the Cedar Lake Trail. It was nice to explore a new route. I would definitely run it again and I’d definitely do another one of their assisted long runs.

9miles3

I felt a little tired and sluggish in the first couple of miles, but then my legs warmed up and I felt great the rest of the run. We kept a pretty good pace, too!

9miles8

Sunday – 2.5 mile run and 25 minute walk

I got up and headed to the farmer’s market. There’s not a ton of variety out yet, but I knew asparagus was in season, so I picked some up to roast for dinner. It was a beautiful, cool morning to sip on some coffee and wander around the market for a little bit.

In the afternoon I headed out for some cross training. I felt like doing a little running, so I did 2.5 miles at about a 10:00/mile pace. Then I did a 25 minute walk to finish up.

Now I’m looking forward to kicking back the rest of the night before a new week begins.

Leave a Reply

