Garry Bjorklund Half Training – Week 6

I don’t know how it happened, but I’m halfway through this training cycle already! The spring seems to be flying by, and while I’m anxious for summer to officially be here, I don’t want the spring to go away too fast.

This past week provided some beautiful weather for training.

Monday – rest

I had a long day at work getting back into the swing of things after being on vacation. By late afternoon I was content with just going home and crashing. I stepped outside after work and felt the sun on my face and got a second wind. Good thing because on a last minute decision, I decided to head to Mill City Running’s ladies night event.

mcr

Tuesday – 4.1 miles (9:31/mile)

I attended the Limitless Potential Luncheon for Girls on the Run. GOTR is a great organization. I had the opportunity to be a running buddy at their 2015 fall 5K and had a great time!

gotr5

I sat at a table and met Jessie (The Right Fits) and her friend Lindsey. We chatted about upcoming races and found that we’ll be in Duluth running races during Grandma’s Marathon weekend. Hopefully I run into them again!

We settled in for lunch and soon the program started. The keynote speaker was Kathrine Switzer, the first woman to register and run the Boston Marathon, and was emceed by U.S. Olympian Carrie Tollefson. So cool to be in the same room with these women.

gotr3
Carrie Tollefson

Kathrine was a fantastic speaker! It was incredibly motivating to hear her talk about overcoming all of the misconceptions put on her because she was a woman. Being told so many times that she couldn’t run long distances (like a marathon) just fueled her and pushed her forward. She broke through a wall that showed girls and woman everywhere that you can do anything you put your mind to. Perfect, because that’s what Girls on the Run is all about!

gotr4
Kathrine Switzer

So honored to meet this running inspiration and awesome female athlete!

gotr1

Tuesday night was my weekly run with Hyedi and Kate. We got in a 4 mile run on a beautiful night.

Wednesday – 3.2 miles (9:27/mile)

This was my pace run this week. I was shooting for a 9:30 pace again. It was technically supposed to be a 4 mile run, but my Achilles started bugging me a little the day before and I was feeling it on and off during this run, so I cut it off when I hit 30 minutes. I had run a little further on Tuesday than what was on my training plan anyway. This Achilles thing started when I was marathon training, but it has been so good since then! Bummed it’s back.

wedpace

Thursday – 3 miles (10:39/mile)

It was another gorgeous spring day. I met my friend Leah for a run. She needed to do 6 miles, so I met her halfway through to finish the run with her. It was good to do 3 easy miles and catch up with her!

Friday – rest

I headed back home to Wisconsin with my sister after work, so a natural rest day. It was in the mid to upper 80s during the day and a nice little summer storm rolled through in the evening. I couldn’t resist stepping out on our deck to watch the lightning roll in. (I love thunderstorms!)

lightning

Saturday – 1.66 mile walk

My family and I got up early to head to the Stroll in the Park for the Epilepsy Foundation of Western Wisconsin. We volunteer and participate in the walk every year. My sister and I manned the coffee and donuts station. Not a bad place to be!

stroll2

The beautiful weather brought out over 600 people to the walk. We had a great time and it’s always nice to support this good cause!

stroll1

Sunday – 6.24 miles (9:39/mile)

I had a 10K on my training plan for this week, so I set out to run for an hour while my family took a walk. My legs were feeling a bit tired in the beginning, but by mile 2 I was feeling warmed up and the hour actually went by pretty fast. I met back up with the fam and we headed home to continue celebrating Mother’s Day with brunch, gifts and some time outside on the patio (after moving all of the patio furniture back outside after the winter).

My training for this half has felt really good (with the exception of the Achilles acting up). It feels like June will be here before I know it, but I think I’ll be ready to go for a PR on race day!

Have you met an inspirational runner?

2 thoughts on “Garry Bjorklund Half Training – Week 6

  1. Strong week of training- that Mill City event looked pretty cool, sad I missed it.

    Kathrine Switzer was definitely an inspiration! I have met Kara Goucher last summer and was pretty star struck 🙂 runner style…

    So great to meet you! See you in Duluth!

Leave a Reply

