Garry Bjorklund Half Training – Week 3 + Run the Valley 5K Race Recap

Monday – 30 minute elliptical

I was still taking it a little easy after Goldy’s, so I decided to do some cross training.

Tuesday – 3.57 miles (9:34/mile)

Run with friends.

Wednesday – Rest day

I had a happy hour after work and then headed to the Minneapolis/St. Paul International Film Festival to see the premiere of a documentary that a friend worked on. It was a great film and really cool to see a couple of short films before it as well.

filmfest

Thursday – Rest day

I was able to do a short 15 minute walk over my lunch hour, but this was basically another rest day.

In the evening I met up with friends to go to the Science Museum of MN for Social Science. It’s an event they do every couple of months where the museum is open to people 21+. The theme for this one was beer, so of course we were excited. They had some demonstrations and presentations about the science of beer, but the best part was the 13 local breweries that were offering tastings. You got up to 10 tastings with the ticket admission. We tasted some good beer and explored some of the fun exhibits in the museum. (My favorite is always the weather stuff!)

socscience

Friday – 3.08 miles (9:46/mile)

It was another pretty day, so I headed out for 3 easy miles since I had taken a couple of days off. I didn’t want to do anything too strenuous since I had a race the next morning.

Saturday – 3.1 miles (9:17/mile) Run the Valley 5K

I had a 5K race on the training plan, which was nice after having Goldy’s 10 mile last weekend. Hyedi and I did the Run the Valley 5K. It was a good course and a well-organized race. We ran the first mile together, but the pace was faster than I normally run, so I told Hyedi to go ahead and that I was going to slow up a little. I finished in 29:20.

runvalley

Sunday – 60 minute walk

It was a beautiful spring day, so I headed out for a nice long walk as my cross training for the week.

Now that Goldy’s is done and I’ve had a week to recover, my goal is to get into more strictly following my training plan. It’s a mix of the Hal Higdon Novice 2 and Intermediate plans.

Leave a Reply

