Garry Bjorklund Half Training – Week 2

Hey all! Here’s a quick recap of week 2 of Garry Bjorklund Half training.

Monday – 3.07 miles (9:48/mile pace)

An uneventful, but solid run to kick off the week.

Tuesday – 3.05 miles (9:39/mile pace)

I met up with a couple of friends for a group run. We’re all doing the Garry Bjorklund Half, so we get to go through this training cycle together!

Wednesday – Rest

I took a rest day to run some errands after work including picking up my packet for Goldy’s 10 mile. I got to Sports Authority around 5:45 p.m. and stood in line for 45 minutes to get my bib and shirt, so that was fun (*sarcasm*).

Thursday – 3 miles (10:00/mile pace)

I came home from work and hopped on the treadmill for 3 easy miles before getting cleaned up to meet Hyedi for dinner at St. Geneveive. We got to taste some amazing dishes! The carrots (top right), sausage and scallop (middle), Tartine Madame (middle right), rhubarb dessert (bottom middle) were probably my favorites, but everything was absolutely delicious. And I tried foie gras for the first time – I’m expanding my horizons! 🙂

stgen

Friday – Rest

Saturday – 10 miles (9:39/mile pace)

Saturday was all about Goldy’s 10 mile. You can check out the race recap for the full story, but the cliff notes version is that I PR’d and totally surprised myself by running faster than I was expecting! I felt great throughout the whole race. Feeling that strong has me thinking about my goals for Garry Bjorklund. I’ve always been planning to go for a PR with a sub 2:10 half (9:55 pace), but I might have to raise the bar a little.

Sunday – 2.14 mile walk

It was a nice, but windy day, so I just headed out for a nice walk in the afternoon. My legs felt surprisingly good given the hard, long, hilly run the day before.

Week 3 will be sort of a step-back week to recover a little from Goldy’s and then I’ll be into half marathon training full force!

Leave a Reply

