Goldy’s 10 Mile Race Recap

I completed my 4th consecutive Goldy’s 10 mile yesterday! I love doing this race every year. It was the first race I did that was longer than a 5K when I started running and I can see the progress I’ve made every time I do it. It also helps that the U of MN is my alma mater, so running around campus is a lot of fun.

I got up at headed to campus early. I always get there with plenty of time because I’ve heard horror stories from a couple people about the parking/traffic situation as it gets a little closer to race time. I sat in my car for a bit to keep warm — the temps were in the 20s. Luckily the sun was out and there was little wind at the start.

I lined up a bit behind the 9:35/mile pacers because I was hoping to do a 9:45-9:50 pace. I don’t know if it’s just where I was standing or if the start corral was more crowded than the past, but we were packed in there. It helped keep me a little warmer, but it meant the first mile involved some dodging and weaving around people.

goldysstart

My watch beeped at mile 1 and I saw 9:54. Not bad, but a little slower than what I was aiming for, so I tried to settle into a slightly faster pace. That wasn’t too hard since there were some decent downhills around mile 2. Things stayed a bit congested through the first few miles, especially just after mile 2 when they had a section of the course where the road was split making our path more narrow. Split sections of the road on an out-and-back section are ok later in a race when the field is less crowded, but I wasn’t psyched about it so early.

Things got better after that, and with each mile I kept seeing some pretty fast times (for me) popping up on my watch. A lot of them were in the 9:30s. I went into the race hoping to PR, but as the race went on I realized I could not only PR, but crush my old time. I kept having a mental battle with myself about whether I should keep going at this faster pace or slow up so that I didn’t crash later in the race. The “go for it” side of me won out.

I kept up my pace in the later miles. Around mile 8 we got back to those hills that we ran down in the beginning, only this time we had to run up. My pace slowed a little with those, but I made up some time on the final stretch towards the stadium.

I crossed the finish line in 1:36:27, a 9:39 pace! (My old PR time was 1:39:23.)

I took a couple of post-run pictures and then headed straight for my car because it was still cold!

goldysselfie

goldysmedal

I’m really happy with how this race went, and it has me rethinking my goals for the Garry Bjorklund Half. I think the bar has been raised!

6 thoughts on “Goldy’s 10 Mile Race Recap

  1. Congrats on the PR!

    Curious: Did your watch show you’d run 10.2 miles? Several of my friends did the 10-miler and said their devices indicated they’d run 10.2 miles.

    • Thanks! I think my watch showed 10.09 miles, so a tad long. I was keeping an eye out for the mile markers every time my watch beeped, and a few time the marker was a bit ahead of me, so I was wondering if the course would be long. I tried to run the tangents as much as possible, so that might have helped.

      Two years ago I did have the course as being about .2 or .25 miles long and talked to a lot of other people who had the same thing, so it’s entirely possible the course was a little off.

Leave a Reply

