Girls on the Run 5K Race Entry Giveaway!

I’ve slowly been getting back into running with some 2-2.5 mile runs over the last week. Getting back into running has me looking ahead to my next races.

I wrote about my next big race, the New Orleans Half with Team Challenge, but I’ve got a couple of other races in mind to finish out 2015. One is an annual Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving Day where they give you a mini pumpkin pie at the end. It’s pretty much the best. 🙂

Who needs a medal when there's pie?!

The other race on my calendar is the Girls on the Run Twin Cities 5K on November 14.

GOTR_Facebook_2-4WEB
Photo credit: GOTR-TC

If you’re not familiar with Girl on the Run Twin Cities (GOTR-TC), it’s a youth development program offered in 35 elementary and middle schools across the Twin Cities. The program aims to strengthen girls’ physical, mental, social and emotional competencies to positively navigate life experiences. Coaches follow a curriculum to teach life skills through interactive lessons and running games. The program ends with the girls being ready to complete a celebratory 5K.

I know how much running has helped me build my own physical, mental, social and emotional competencies. I didn’t get to experience all of the amazing benefits of running until I was in my 20s, but GOTR-TC offers girls a chance to experience them at a young age so they can carry the lessons and confidence long after the program is done.

GOTR_Instagram-Image-8
Photo credit: GOTR-TC

I’ve attended a few events for GOTR-TC in the past and I’m really excited to run alongside and support these girls. They give me motivation to continue my running journey and see what other amazing roads it will lead me down.

GOTR_Instagram-Image-6
Photo credit: GOTR-TC

Now the best news: GOTR-TC has provided a free race entry for one lucky On A Fun Run reader! This is a great race for all ability levels. It’s not a competitive run; it’s all about fun and celebrating the accomplishments of the girls.

To win a free entry to the GOTR-TC 5K on November 14, leave a comment telling me what gifts running has given you or what motivates you to run. I’ll select a winner on November 4. Good luck!

Disclosure: I received a complimentary race entry. All opinions are my own. 

4 thoughts on “Girls on the Run 5K Race Entry Giveaway!

  1. I’m already registered for the GOTR 5k, but running has given me greater confidence in my ability to do hard things, and insight into strength that I didn’t realize I had 🙂 I might be able to find someone to run with me and take the free entry if you’re still giving it away! 😉

Leave a Reply

