TC Marathon Training – Week 12

Week 12 was another step-back week which I tried to take advantage of because I can definitely feel the soreness and some aches and pains as my mileage continues to increase.

Monday – rest

Tuesday – 4.09 miles (9:49/mile pace)

After a pretty frustrating and overall bad day — for a number of reasons — I could not wait to get home and go for a run. I needed some running therapy like none other.

frustrationrun

It was cloudy and had been raining all day. I intended to just get on the treadmill, but right as I walked in the workout room someone got on the second treadmill. I think that was some divine intervention for me to just go outside. There was still some very light rain, but I didn’t care. I wasn’t wearing my Garmin, so I wasn’t paying much attention to pace. I worked out my frustration with a 9:36 mile 1 and 9:40 mile 2. After that, I went back to my normal pace. Felt good except I got back home and my left calf felt pretty sore and tight. Whoops. I did some stretching and foam rolling to help.

Wednesday – 8.02 miles (10:01/mile pace)

The weather this week had been much cooler that the previous weekend. Dare I say it: It kind of felt like fall. The temps were in the 60s when I headed out for this 8 mile run. I felt pretty good initially, but my left calf was sore and tight again as I got about halfway through. I stopped around mile 5 to stretch my leg a little which did help finish up the run.

8mile

Thursday – rest

With that sore calf, it was nice that I was planning on Thursday for a rest day, and I met some friends for happy hour after work

Friday – 4.06 miles (9:53/mile pace)

I got up for a morning run on Friday. It was nice and cool as the sun came up along the river.

C7A9ABD0-44C2-4518-B424-081E0CFFE34C

I was technically supposed to do 5 miles, and even though my calf was feeling better, I decided to cut it a little short at 4 miles and use the extra time for some foam rolling and stretching before work.

Saturday – 35 minute elliptical, 1.51 mile walk

I got my cross-training workout done first thing in the morning before heading to a baby shower.

babyshower

After the shower, I got to grab a delicious lavender latte with an old friend that was in town. We had a great time catching up and reminiscing.

lavender latte

Sunday – 12.05 miles (9:59/mile pace)

For this step-back week, I decided not to head to the lakes to run and went with a different route. It was cool and cloudy again. It was also WINDY! Some sprinkling, spitting rain fell near the beginning, but nothing too bad. The wind and rain were probably good practice – you never know what it’s gonna be like on race day!

The wind was right in my face for the first 5 miles of the run, then at my back for the next 6, and in my face for the final mile.

After my run, I met friends for brunch at a restaurant that I’d been wanting to try for a long time. I was really excited to try the breakfast sandwich and thought it would be the perfect post-run meal.

publickandb

It was good, but unfortunately service was a bit slow and the food came out warm at best. I’ll be giving the place another try for dinner, and hope that the second chance is worth it!

After brunch we made an impromptu trip to the farmers market. I got some cucumber, tomatoes and zucchini as well as some pretty flowers.

fmflowers

We’re at 6 weeks and counting! Gearing up mentally and physically for the 18 miles that are on tap for next weekend!

How do you deal with soreness and small pains during training? Ever been disappointed by a restaurant you were really excited to try?

One thought on “TC Marathon Training – Week 12

Leave a Reply

