TC Marathon Training – Week 11

Another milestone week! I’ll definitely have more of those as training goes on, but it never gets old. I not only had a milestone for longest mileage, but a pretty good accomplishment with my pace for my long run.

The weather was pretty hot and humid all week, but I’m looking forward to this week when it’s supposed to be cooler.

I had a good week of training, but did end up skipping one of my 4 mile runs with other things going on. Not a bad thing and still got a shorter workout in to replace it.

Monday – rest

Tuesday – 4.02 miles (9:58/mile pace)

On Monday I got a new pair of running shoes, so I wanted to start slowly breaking them in. They’re the newest version of the same shoe I’ve been training in, and if all goes well these will be the shoes I run the marathon in!

Wednesday – 4.96 mile walk

I met a friend at one of the lakes for a walk. I thought I might do my 4 mile run after, but we ended up doing two laps around the lake for an almost 5 mile walk. After that, it was getting dark and my legs were tired, so I called it a night. I counted this as my cross-training for the week.

Thursday – 8.03 miles (9:59/mile pace)

It was a fairly steamy evening but cloudy, so that helped for a slightly longer run. There’s a bridge crossing the Mississippi that I’d been wanting to run for a while, and this was the perfect distance to add it in my route. The hazy clouds makes it hard to see, but downtown St. Paul is in the distance.

B1AF8C1C-E186-4E2F-8E78-8874C41D2E23

Friday – rest

I met some friends for happy hour at Hola Arepa. We’d been wanting to get there for a while, and finally made it — when it was open. 🙂

The black bean & queso fresco arepa was really good! I will definitely be back to try more!

HolaArepa

Saturday – 1.15 mile run (10:30/mile pace) and 12 minute walk

I got up early so I could volunteer for Ragnar. I don’t know how the teams managed to run the 200+ mile relay race this year — it was hot! Friday and Saturday were in the 90s with high humidity. The heat definitely slowed teams down, so it was slow at our exchange throughout the morning. But, I did get to see my friends come through and they rocked it!

Ragnar

Later in the afternoon, I got on the treadmill for a very short workout in my new shoes to keep breaking them in.

Sunday – 16.14 mile run (9:55/mile pace)

Sunday run day at its finest! I woke up early to beat the heat and hopefully some potential rain. Thankfully, it was cloudy but never rained. No sun was great, but it was still humid.

I started to make my way around Lake Harriet. My legs were feeling pretty good after almost two days of rest, but I could feel that I was starting out slow. After a mile or two, I had resolved that this might be a slower run. But, as I got going my legs warmed up and I kept a pretty steady pace. Actually, it was a faster pace than I anticipated. Around mile 13 I realized that I was consistently keeping a sub 10 minute per mile average pace. That kind of lit a fire under me to see how long I could keep that going. I wasn’t sure if I could get through all 16 at that pace given how my legs felt during mile 14 and 15 of my run the previous week.

The last three miles were my final lap around Lake Harriet. I comfortably made it through mile 14 in 9:48. Miles 15 and 16 were tougher as my legs felt the fatigue, but I still managed to knock them out in 9:51 and 9:54 respectively. In the end, I had a sub-10 average pace for my 16 mile run!

16miles

It felt great to not only hit a new distance milestone, but to do it faster than I thought I’d be able to!

The next week is a step-back week, so I’ll focus on getting in all of my runs and recovering before tackling 18 miles in two weeks!

5 thoughts on “TC Marathon Training – Week 11

Leave a Reply

