TC Marathon Training – Week 10

I had an awesome running milestone this week! Keep reading to see what it was. 🙂

Week 10 was another great training week. Some solid runs and lots of non-running activities to keep me busy.

Monday – rest

Tuesday – 4.03 miles (9:58/mile pace)

Wednesday – 7.05 miles (9:57/mile pace)

I finally had a good weekday longer run! The heat and tired legs have made that last couple of weeks a bit rough. It wasn’t crazy hot after work on Wednesday, but I wanted to test out my fuel belt, so I wore it anyway. It was kind of annoying at first, but then I got used to it and it wasn’t too bad. It was actually nice to have the water with me whenever I wanted it instead of having to wait for a water fountain. I have my hand-held bottle, but the belt is good for being able to carry more.

fuel belt

Thursday – rest

I took my rest day on Thursday because meeting a friend’s new baby was way more important than running!

Friday – 3.05 miles (9:54/mile pace)

I headed out for a quick 3 mile run after work and then hopped in the shower to get ready for an evening out. My sister, two of our friends, and I did a patio tour in St. Paul. We made it to four patios, and it was great weather to enjoy some time outside with food and drinks!

patios

Saturday – 36 minute elliptical 

I was planning to do my long run on Sunday, so I got up to do some cross-training on the elliptical before running a couple of errands. My parents were in town for the weekend, so I met them in the afternoon to explore the Minneapolis Sculpture Garden, Artist-Designed Mini Golf, and the Walker Art Museum.

spoon&cherry

Sunday – 15.08 miles (10:04/mile pace)

On Sunday morning I got up a little earlier than normal to start my long run. I headed over to the lakes again — they’ve become my favorite long-run spot this summer.

I had 15 miles on the training plan. The air was cool and it was cloudy, so I was feeling good about getting started. As I started to make my way around the lake I could feel the humidity, though.

I made a loop around Lake Harriet and then over to Calhoun, then broke off to head to Lake of the Isles.

738D65A1-69D0-4C65-9613-B54AD7A75FAF

After Isles, I made my way back to Calhoun to finish that loop and head back to Harriet. That three-lake route got me to just over 10 miles. I made another loop around Harriet to get to 13.

I’ve done half marathons and did a 13.1 mile training run a couple of weeks ago, but this time I kept going. I continued around the lake keeping an eye on my watch for it to hit 14 miles. At that point, I turned around to finish up the last mile. In front of the Lake Harriet Bandshell, I hit 15 miles — the farthest I’ve ever run!

Those last couple of miles were definitely a mental challenge. My legs were tired and heavy. It was tempting to stop and walk, but I knew I would not start again and I just wanted to get the run done. That’s the other thing, those last 2 miles felt like they took forever. But, with all that, I powered through! It felt so good to be done and to set a new running milestone for distance!

16miles
Tired, but happy legs!

After my run, I headed home to get cleaned up and met my family for some fun at the Irish Fair. We saw some Irish dancing, pet some cute Irish dogs, and ate some Irish-inspired food. I had a Guinness pulled pork sandwich.

IrishFair

It was a fun, but tiring weekend! I could feel the soreness in my legs the rest of the day and on Monday.

What’s your latest running milestone?

One thought on “TC Marathon Training – Week 10

Leave a Reply

