TC Marathon Training – Week 7

Another week done! It was a fun and busy week filled with running and getting to hang with friends and family. Here’s a recap of the week.

Monday – rest

Tuesday – 6.01 mile run (10:09/mile pace)

I got home from work and it was about 85 degrees. Not crazy hot, but not awesome for running 6 miles either. I started my run and was feeling great. My legs were fresh and thing were going good. Then after a couple of miles, the heat and a slight stomach ache started to bug me. The last half of this run was a bit of a struggle. I made it, but was definitely happy when it was over!

Wednesday – 3.02 mile run (9:59/mile pace)

I got up for a morning run on Wednesday so I could meet some friends for dinner after work. The run in the cooler morning air was much better than the night before.

A friend from grad school was in town and staying with me for a couple days. I got together with her and another friend for dinner at Smack Shack for restaurant week. We got to try several different courses for a set price. I had the fried calamari, lobster guacamole, shrimp & grits, cornbread & honey butter, and a scoop of ice cream for dessert. Great meal, great conversation, and a great MN night to sit outside!

 

Smackshack

Thursday – 3 mile run (10:00/mile pace)

A rainy day forced me inside for this quick 3 mile run.

After that, I got cleaned up and my friend and I headed out to Surly brewery to grab a drink and dinner. It was an hour and a half wait when we got there, so we ended up just getting the drink and having dinner elsewhere.

Friday – rest

I took Friday off of work to hang with my friend in the morning before she had to leave down. We grabbed breakfast at The Buttered Tin, and it was delicious! I’ve heard rave reviews of this place, and it had been on my list for a long time. So glad I got to go!

butteredtin   butteredtin2

Saturday – 12.10 mile run (9:55/mile pace)

I got up early on Saturday to get out to Lake Harriet at 8 a.m. to start my long run. I knew the temp was supposed to get hot later in the day, so wanted to get it done. The air was fairly cool, and there’s a decent amount of shade around the lake. The breeze on certain sides of the lakes felt AMAZING, too.

I made two loops around Lake Harriet and then headed over for a loop around Lake Calhoun. I spotted Minne (Minneapolis’ version of the Loch Ness Monster)!

Then I made my way back to Harriet for one last loop around for a perfect 12 mile run. I was really happy with my pace again and am feeling pretty good about my progress with long run.

12mile

On Saturday afternoon I headed home to visit my family for the night. We went out to a baseball game and I scarfed down some classic ball park food (hot dog, chips, pasta salad). At one point the wind blew the last bit of my beer right in my lap. #baseballgamefail Needless to say, I had to wait a little bit for it to dry before I could get up to get another drink.

baseball

Sunday – 1 hour walk (2.96 miles)

Took a nice hour-long walk with my mom, sister and our dog in the morning and hung out with family through dinner before heading back to my apartment.

Anyone else ever spilled a drink on themselves at a ball game? Do you like running in the heat?

One thought on “TC Marathon Training – Week 7

Leave a Reply

