TC Marathon Training – Week 4

I was looking forward to kicking up the training a notch in week 4. Last week was a cut-back week and the first couple weeks of training had been distances that I was used to running. Nice for easing into training, but I’m actually excited for the longer runs to start! Here’s what week 4 of training looked like.

Monday – rest day

I met a friend for dinner on Monday night. We checked out a newer restaurant in Minneapolis called Nighthawks. I had the Monday blue plate special – fried chicken, mashed potatoes, coleslaw and a biscuit.  It was yummy! I’d definitely go back and try other stuff on the menu.

nighthawks

Tuesday – 3.18 mile run (9:46/mile pace)

I wasn’t planning for this run to be as fast as it was, but I felt good so I just went with it.

Wednesday – 3.02 mile run (10:03/mile pace)

I got up for a morning run since I had a work happy hour in the afternoon.

So pretty and peaceful
So pretty and peaceful

I was worried that my legs were going to be really tired after a tough run the night before, but they were surprisingly fresh when I started running. Got in a great 3 miles to start the day.

Thursday – 4.09 mile run (9:50/mile pace)

It was a little warm for this after-work run, but nothing too crazy. And I saw something on the river that I’d never seen before – a party barge! I’ve seen all kinds of boats cruising down the river, but never a true party barge. It was a good night for it, so I hope they had fun!

FBD6E461-C5B0-4175-B6C6-4609B09DA122

Friday – rest

I can cross the Twin Cities Jazz Fest off my summer bucket list! I got home from work and it started to rain. I had been hearing that a couple showers may roll through, but would clear quickly. I couldn’t help but be a little skeptical given that Jazz Fest was rained out the night I tried to go last year. But, by 7 p.m. the rain had passed and the weather was perfect.

jazzfest   jazzfest2

Got to hang out in the park and listen to a nice variety of jazz music. I am by no means a jazz aficionado, but I can absolutely appreciate the music and it was a lot of fun. Gonna have to go back next year.

Saturday – 9.03 mile run (9:59/mile pace)

I set an alarm to get myself up and out for my long run early to beat the heat. I almost made it out when I wanted to (I hit snooze a couple times). The air was still cool, but the sun was rising so I could feel some heat.

I set out for my 9 miles. My legs were sluggish and tired at first, but after about 2 miles they loosened up and I felt great for the rest of the run. I even held a slightly faster pace than I was expecting.

The rest of the day was about catching up with friends and meeting some new ones. Oh, and a nap. 🙂

Sunday – 3.29 mile walk

I met my sister for a walk on Sunday morning for my cross training. We walked around a park/lake for a solid 1 hour walk.

On Sunday afternoon I met a friend for ice cream at Grand Ole Creamery and a stroll along Grand Ave. We walked about a mile and a half as we chatted and indulged in some delicious ice cream cones.

icecream

 

It was another great week of training. I feel ready for the double-digit miles to start next week. I’ll work that 10 mile run in around whatever 4th of July plans I come up with. Still don’t know what I’m doing!

Do you look forward to long runs? What are your 4th of July plans?

2 thoughts on “TC Marathon Training – Week 4

Leave a Reply

