TC Marathon Training – Week 2

Two weeks down, 16 to go! Here’s how week 2 of Twin Cities Marathon training shook out.

Monday – rest

Tuesday – 3.03 mile run (10:06/mile pace)

Tuesday’s run officially felt like summer. It was 89 degrees when I got home from work. I decided to brave the heat and do my 3 mile run outside. Figured I might as well get used to the warm weather for training. It was hot, but there was a bit of a breeze that helped and I made it through just fine.

week2 temp

Wednesday – 3 mile run (10:23/mile pace)

I had plans after work on Wednesday, so I made myself get up for a morning run. Worth it for this view!

morningrun

Think my legs were still a bit tired after running the night before, but it was a beautiful and cool morning to be out.

Wednesday night was another St. Paul Saints game with friends. We enjoyed some yummy ballpark food and had a great night to watch some baseball. Well, really, it was more talking to each other than watching baseball, but still totally fun!

saints

Thursday – 3.03 mile run (10:09/mile pace)

Friday – 7.04 mile run (10:08/mile pace)

I needed to do my long run a day early because of weekend plans, so I headed out for 7 miles after work. My legs were really tired and heavy at first. Probably from three straight days of running and no rest day. After about 2 miles my legs warmed up and things started to go smoother. In fact, holy negative splits!

splits

Saturday – 3.27 mile walk (time: 58:33)

I got up early on Saturday and headed to the Flag Day 5k!

flag day 5k

I ended up walking this one with friends as cross training for the week. It was cool and cloudy, but the rain held out so it was actually a nice day for a walk. It was nice to be at the race again and support a great cause. They changed up the course from last year, so it was a bit more scenic rather. We were on a path rather than going through a more residential area. The volunteers along the course were super friendly. Still a small race, which is nice, but hope it can continue to grow each year.

Saturday afternoon was Hyedi’s baseball-themed baby shower! So lovely to shower her with gifts and more importantly love!

baby shower

Sunday – rest

Sunday was a much needed rest and relaxation day to get ready for week 3!

Leave a Reply

