TC Marathon Training – Week 1

Marathon training is officially underway! One week down, 17 more to go before the 2015 Twin Cities Marathon. I’m following the Hal Higdon Novice 1 plan. I’ve followed several of his plans and they’ve prepared me well for other races. I like that there’s some flexibility built in where you can  move runs during the week since life can be busy and unpredictable. The really important thing is to get in the long runs.

The Novice 1 plan doesn’t have any speed work. It’s all about distance. There are 4 running days, 1 cross training day and 2 rest days each week. Every third week is a step back week.

Week 1 started off with mileage that was right on track with what I’ve been doing since Goldy’s 10 mile in April, so it has been a nice, easy start to training. Here’s how the week shook out.

Monday – Rest day

Mondays are a rest day in the training plan. It was a little weird for my first official day of training to be a rest day, but it worked with my schedule so I went with it.

Tuesday – 3.02 miles (10:07/mile pace)

Tuesday was my first official marathon training run!

firstrun

Wednesday – 3 miles (10:10/mile pace)

It was a cloudy, rainy day so I ended up doing this run on the treadmill.

Thursday – 3.05 miles (9:54/mile pace)

Friday – 2.7 mile walk

I went out to lunch with a few co-workers on Friday to celebrate finishing up my Masters degree! Had an awesome braised beef eggs Benedict at Cook in St. Paul.

CookStPaul

I knew Saturday would need to be a rest day, so decided to make Friday my cross training day. I kept it low key with a nice 45 minute walk. After that, I headed to Stillwater to hang with friends the night before their wedding.

Saturday – Rest day

Saturday was all about celebrating the wedding of a dear friend that I met the very first day of freshman year of college. It was a gorgeous day for an outdoor wedding, and wonderful to spend the day with friends.

LandJwedding

Sunday – 6.04 miles (10:08/mile pace)

I woke up fairly early and decided to get my run in before it got too hot. It was sunny and pretty warm. My legs were a little tired after walking around in heels the night before, but not as bad as I thought they would be.

The rest of the day was about relaxing and getting ready for week 2 of training.

How was your weekend? Has wedding season started for you?

Leave a Reply

