Goldy’s 10 Mile Training – Week 1

I signed up for Goldy’s 10 mile for the third year! I like the push it gives me to keep training in the colder Minnesota winter months.

With my sights set on the marathon this fall, I’m planning to take it easy in other races. So, I’m following a basic training plan (no speed work) that will just get me up to the mileage I need to be at. Here’s a recap of this week’s workouts.

Monday – 3 mile run (10:20/ mile pace)

I hit the treadmill after work for my first training run. Nothing big or special, just a solid training run.

Goldys training run 1

Tuesday – rest

I headed to the MN Wild hockey game with a friend. It was a great game that the Wild won 3-0!

Wild

Wednesday – 30 minute elliptical

Thursday – rest

Friday – rest/Atlanta walking

My friend, Hyedi, and I traveled to Atlanta to visit friends and get away from the MN winter for a couple days. No “real” workout on Friday with an early flight, but did get in some walking in the airport and walking around town a little.

I can’t talk about the trip without talking about the food. After we got in, our friends picked us up at the airport and we headed to Flying Biscuit for brunch. I’d been dreaming of the biscuits and gravy there since we booked the trip.

Flying Biscuit

We got to hang out and visit for awhile in the afternoon until it was time to check in to the hotel and get ready for dinner. We headed to The Spence. I’m a big Top Chef fan, and the executive chef there, Richard Blais, was on the show. I ordered the mahi mahi and it was delicious! Great spices and served with tomatillo sauce, blood orange, potatoes and rapini.

The Spence

For dessert, I splurged! Blondie cake with coffee ice cream and frozen caramel. OMG – fantastic!

The Spence2

Saturday – 2 mile run (10:30/mile pace) and 3 mile walk

On Saturday morning, we hit the hotel gym for a quick workout. I got in the 2 mile run I hadn’t done earlier in the week.

ATL run

We had an initial thought that there might not be enough treadmills, but as soon as we walked in we saw that wouldn’t be the case. The hotel gym was big – it’s actually a gym that you can join if you live in the area.

Gym

After getting cleaned up, it was off to brunch. We headed to South City Kitchen, just a short walk from the hotel.

Love palm trees!
Love palm trees!

Had to start the meal off right with fried green tomatoes (w/ pepper coulis and basil). I loved them.

SCK2

For the main course, I had to get the chicken and waffle. I don’t think I’ve ever ordered it before at brunch, so I figured ATL was the place to do it and I was right. The fried chicken and waffle were great, and it was served with real maple syrup. A bite with everything gave you a fantastic salty/sweet combo.

SCK3

 

After brunch, we met up with our friends again and went for a walk on the Atlanta BeltLine. It was a gorgeous day (60 and sunny). We walked to the Krog Street Market to explore some of the vendors and get some Jeni’s ice cream!

Krog

Jeni's ice cream

The total mileage for our walk to and from the market was about 3 miles.

Following that, we got ready for dinner and headed to Holeman and Finch. Apparently “The Burger” is a big thing on their menu. It used to only be available at certain times, but recently made it’s way to the main menu. Of course, we had to try it. It was really good! Nothing fancy – no special sauces or odd ingredients – just beef, cheese, pickles, and house made ketchup and mustard.

The Burger HandF

Sunday – 4 mile run (10:26/mile pace)

Before heading to the airport, we took a short walk to get bagel for breakfast, then it was time to say good-bye to Atlanta. All around, a really nice getaway.

I got home and unpacked, headed to the grocery, and headed outside for my long run for the week. It was in the 20’s and a little windy, so I bundled up but got in a great run.

What spring races are you training for? What do you do to escape the cold winter weather?

3 thoughts on “Goldy’s 10 Mile Training – Week 1

Leave a Reply

