Turkey Trot Race Recap

For the second year, I kicked off Thanksgiving by running a 5 mile Turkey Trot in my home town. I was really excited to do this race again, but I was not excited about the weather. It was about 20 degrees last year, and I would’ve given anything for it to be 20 this year!

I woke up and saw this on my phone:

Uff Da!
Uff Da!

So, my first task was figuring out what to wear. I knew layers were going to be important. I opted for two pairs of pants (tights and athletic pants), three shirts (long sleeve base layer, half zip pullover, zip up jacket), two pairs of socks, two pairs of knit gloves, and a hat.

My family was doing the 2 mile walk while I did the 5 mile run. Being able to park a couple blocks from the start meant we could stay warm in the car for a bit. At 7:50 a.m. we headed into the cold to head to our respective start lines. On my way, I ran into a couple people I went to high school with and chatted with them to pass the time before the race started. The race started right at 8 a.m. I didn’t even have my music and RunKeeper ready when we started moving!

I started out a little slow with the initial crowd and trying to get a feel for the road. It had snowed a little overnight and I wanted to watch out for any ice. The main road we started on was pretty clear though, so I was able to settle in to a nice pace. I knew I wouldn’t be running very fast, but hoped to be somewhere around 10:30 minute miles.

The first 2 miles went by pretty fast. Around this time, the course started to go on to side roads and paths that weren’t as clear as the main road, so I had to watch my footing. That slowed me down a tad, but I was able to keep running and stay at an okay pace. Miles 3 and 4 felt like they went by kind of slow, but then I only had 1 mile to go and was able to pick up my pace a little on the clearer main road to the finish line.

I finished in 53:13 (avg. 10:39/mile). With the snow and cold, I’m happy with that!

I met up with my family at the finish line and collected my “medal.” This is the best part of this race–each participant gets a personal pumpkin pie!

turkey trot 2

My layering strategy turned out to be the perfect amount of clothing. I never got overheated and wasn’t cold. The temperature was cold, but there was very little wind which helped a lot. This was the coldest race I’ve ever run, but it felt good to know I could select the right gear to comfortably make it through!

We all got cleaned up, watched some of the Macy’s parade, finished some food prep and then headed to my Aunt and Uncle’s. It was a great afternoon with family (and food) :).

The rest of the holiday weekend was spent decorating for Christmas, spending time with family and this cute pup…

cozy

…cheering for the Gophers against Wisconsin (even though they lost)…

Gophers

…and relaxing. It was a lovely weekend at home. Thankful for my wonderful family and friends!

Now, I’m turning my attention to my favorite time of the year and getting in the holiday spirit by decorating my apartment and listening to Christmas music. Tis the season!

Did you do a Turkey Trot? What’s the coldest race you’ve ever run? 

 

One thought on “Turkey Trot Race Recap

  1. […] For the third year in a row, my family started out Thanksgiving Day with a turkey trot in my hometown. My mom, dad and sister did the 2 mile walk and I did the 5 mile run. It was a chilly morning (in the 20s), but nothing compared to the bitter cold we dealt with last year. […]

Leave a Reply

