Getting my running groove back

Well, I’ve alluded to it a little on here, but my shin has been bugging me for several weeks. I took a solid 3 weeks off of running after the Big Ten 10K, but that still didn’t get rid of it. I finally went to the doc last Friday because I was getting worried it was something bad like a stress fracture. Luckily, the doc diagnosed it as shin splints. Still a bummer, but he gave me the green light to keep running and they gave me some strengthening exercises which I’ve started doing every day.

shin

I’ve gotten in a few runs in the last couple weeks and have felt good for the most part. I ran 3.75 miles on Monday. Sadly, that’s the farthest I’ve run in weeks. It wasn’t my best run. Made it through, but my legs felt tired and heavy. Still getting my running groove back. Hoping to slowly build up my mileage and be at least somewhat prepared for the TC Looney Challenge in October. I know I won’t be as well trained as I had hoped, but I think I can at least get to a point where I can complete all three races.

In other news…I’ve been working on that summer bucket list! Last week, I ventured over to Minnehaha Falls for a walk and to check off, “Go see a show or movie at one of the Minneapolis Music & Movies in the park locations.” The website said it was supposed to be a jazz quartet, but it ended up just being a guy playing the drums. (I actually think he was part of the quartet, but the rest of his group wasn’t there yet for some reason.) So, I sat and watched for a little bit anyway. He was actually pretty good and it was a really nice night.

Minnehaha falls  music in the park

On Sunday I headed to the “Great Minnesota Get Together” a.k.a. the MN State Fair.

state fair

I met up with my sister and some friends to explore the fair and most importantly get some food!

Blueberry Lemonade
Blueberry Lemonade
Chicken in a Waffle
Chicken in a Waffle
Pretzel Curds
Pretzel Curds
Pickle on a Stick!
Pickle on a Stick!

The pickle on a stick helped me cross off, “Eat something on a stick at the MN State Fair.”

Kind of wish I could’ve tried more food, but there’s always next year!

What’s your favorite fair food? Have you ever had to get your running groove back?

 

Leave a Reply

