Weekend in Review and Running Update

It was a busy but fun weekend! This pic pretty much sums it up…

8.15 to 8.17 weekend

Middle pic – It started off on Friday night when Hyedi and I headed to Heavy Table’s North Coast Nosh – an event where you get to taste some yummy food and drink from local purveyors. It was hosted at Open Arms Minnesota and a portion of the proceeds went to them.  Just to name a few: cheese from Faribault Dairy, jerk chicken from Homegrown foods, BBQ sauce from Triple Crown BBQ Sauce, ice cream from Sweet Science, ice pops from Saint Pops, beer from Tin Whiskers and Badger Hill. And I tried my first ceviche that was made in the Open Arms kitchen – delicious!

Bottom right pic – I got up on Saturday morning and headed to exchange 35 of Ragnar Relay Great River to volunteer. I ran Ragnar last year (and had a great time!), but decided to take this year off. I enjoyed volunteering, and hope that I can make it more of a habit to volunteer for a couple races each year. It’s easy to forget that the races we do wouldn’t be possible without volunteers!

Top right pic – Birthday drinks (not mine) at Rabbit Hole!

Top left pic – I got up to drive my sister to a 5K in downtown Minneapolis. While I waited for her to finish, I headed over to the Minneapolis Farmer’s Market to get some veggies. Picked up some colorful peppers, zucchini, and a bag of jalapeno, bacon, cheddar popcorn (couldn’t resist). Can officially cross that item off my summer bucket list!

Bottom left pic – My sister and I headed to the Twins game. It was supposed to start at 1 p.m. but they had a 40 minute “weather delay” even though it wasn’t raining. They finally started the game, but it wasn’t long until the rain actually did move in. We stuck around through about 4 innings (taking cover from the rain once) and then the game went into a rain delay. We decided to head out at that point. Oh well, we tried.

In running news, I haven’t been doing much lately. My shin has still been giving me some issues. But, I did hop on the treadmill for a 20 minute run on Sunday and felt pretty good. It was a nice evening on Monday, so I ventured out to the trail and tested things out again. I made it for 2.4 miles with no pain! Felt a little soreness afterwards, so I guess it’s not totally better. Gonna have to keep an eye on it, but I have to say it felt sooooo good to run again! I’ve missed that runner’s high.

How was your weekend? 

Leave a Reply

