Half Marathon Training – Week 11

The half marathon is almost here! Feeling pretty good about it. I’m hopeful that the weather will cooperate. I know several people who were supposed to run the Minneapolis Marathon races that got cancelled yesterday. I feel bad that they didn’t get to do their run, but you can’t control the weather – even though we wish we could sometimes.

Monday – 10.5 miles, 10:20 avg pace

I pushed my long run to Monday. I made sure to get up semi early so I could get my run in before it got too hot. Pretty good strategy as it was in the lower 70s and there was a little breeze, but it was still humid, hot, and sticky for the whole run. I did my usual routine stopping at my car for some water after each lap around the lake. After the first two laps, I was still feeling good, but I started carrying my water bottle with me anyway. Was kind of nice to be able to take a sip of cold water when I wanted it.

Given the heat and humidity, I felt like I kept up a pretty good pace. Hoping the morning of the half marathon is pleasant, but you never know!

run 5.26

Smiling even though I'm kind of a hot mess at this point.
Smiling even though I’m kind of a hot mess at this point.

Tuesday – 45 minute walk (2.73 miles)

I got home from work and seriously considered making this a rest day. I even ate dinner which I don’t normally do until after my workout. After relaxing for a little bit, I noticed that the sun was coming out after a rainy day so I put on my shoes for a quick walk that ended up being 45 minutes. A nice relaxing workout after Monday’s long run.

I spent some quality time with the foam roller when I got back home.

foamroller

Wednesday – Rest Day

Thursday – 5.08 miles, 10:06 avg pace

It was pretty warm, but I made it through all 5 miles feeling good.

Friday – 30 minute elliptical workout

It was hot again after work, and I knew I was going to do a run the next morning, so I opted to stay inside and do something low impact. I cranked out a good workout and could feel it in my legs when I got done. Probably when

Saturday – 8 miles, 10:24 avg pace

I was heading to a wedding in Wisconsin later in the morning, so I got up early to get in my last long run before the half marathon next weekend. Given my limited time this weekend with traveling and wanting to give my legs a little bit of a break, I decided to keep this long run a bit shorter. Running early was nice because it wasn’t too hot yet. I started out really slow. My legs were definitely feeling the effects of that hard elliptical workout. My legs warmed up after a mile or two.

I got home and had a little over an hour to shower and finish packing. I threw on my compression socks since I was going to be sitting in the car for about 4 hours. It was a fun wedding and I got to see a few friends from college. We danced the night away celebrating the bride and groom, so I guess that could be considered my second workout of the day. đŸ™‚

All dressed up!
All dressed up!
Sister selfie!
Sister selfie!

Sunday – Rest Day

Traveled back home and got ready for another week!

What did you do this past weekend?

Leave a Reply

