First Summer 5K and Race Entry Giveaway

The end of the week is almost here and a long weekend is ahead. I won’t be traveling anywhere, but I’ve got some fun stuff on my calendar that will involve seeing lots of friends and of course running!

My third half marathon is just over 2 weeks away. After that, I’ll have another 10K race in July and then I’ll be focusing my training on getting ready for the TC Looney Challenge in October. These are my 3 big races, and then I had planned to fill in the rest of my summer and fall with some fun 5Ks.

My first 5K of the summer will be on June 14. I registered for the third annual Minnesota Daughters of the American Revolution Flag Day 5K Run/Walk. This race is sponsored by the Minnesota State Daughters of the American Revolution and benefits the Minneapolis VA Fischer House. If I can support a good cause while also supporting my running addiction, I’m all in! And this is a great cause: The Minneapolis VA Fischer House provides families a free place to stay while their loved one is receiving treatment at the VA.

A stay in the hospital is never very pleasant, so being able to have family close by to offer support is so important. I love that Fischer House allows veterans to get that family support — especially when you think about the sacrifices and support they’ve given us by serving our country.

The course is USTF certified and will be chip timed. Not sure if it’s smart for me to race this 5K since it will be a week after my half marathon, but we’ll see how I’m feeling. It’s tempting. 🙂

Photo Credit: Minnesota DAR Flag Day 5K
Photo Credit: Minnesota DAR Flag Day 5K

If you want to run the Flag Day 5K, then I have good news for you! Of course, you can register here like I did, or you can win a free race entry! To enter, leave a comment by midnight on Sunday, May 25 and tell me about your favorite race or event that supports a good cause and/or what you’ll be doing over Memorial Day weekend. I’ll randomly pick a winner and announce it on Monday (Memorial Day!).

I can’t end this post without saying a huge THANK YOU to all of those who have or are currently serving our country!

Photo Credit: Minnesota DAR Flag Day 5K
Photo Credit: Minnesota DAR Flag Day 5K

I was not compensated for this post. All opinions are my own.

13 thoughts on “First Summer 5K and Race Entry Giveaway

  1. I love that you are running for health & fun as well as helping out good causes. Thanks to all those who serve or country!!!

  2. What a great cause! I love doing local races to support others, we are running to support the rescue where we got our puppy 🙂

  3. What a great cause for your race! I’m actually doing a trail run on June 14th in Brainerd. The race benefits the Northland Arboretum, an organization dedicated to getting the community involved in nature. They have over 20k of trails and it’s supposed to be really beautiful!

  4. This race IS for a wonderful cause. It’s just a bonus that it happens to occur in my town. I hope to never miss a year of running this race.

  5. Wow, this would be awesome. This would be my second 5k. I was just getting ready to register for it. As for the Memorial Day weekend, we are getting ready to hang out with some neighbor’s and enjoy the day.

    • This would be a great second 5K! The weather has been great this weekend, so it’s been really nice for enjoying some time outside with friends.

Leave a Reply

