Morning Run for the Soul

I normally do my runs in the evening during the week. I can’t bring myself to set my alarm any earlier. But this morning I had an appointment so I didn’t need to be into work until a little later. I decided to try and take advantage or the extra time.

I set my alarm for 6 a.m. – my normal wake-up time. When it went off, I was tempted to turn it off and set it for an hour later because I really did not sleep well last night. Before I hit snooze I looked out my window, over the trees, and across the street to see the sun shining down on my regular running route. The rays of sunshine helped pull me out of bed and into my running shoes. I grabbed my headphones and arm band, but at the last minute decided to leave them behind. Something told me I wouldn’t need them today.

I made my way outside. It was 54 degrees with a light breeze. Perfect weather.

morning run 5.21 1

I wanted to try for a 2 to 3 mile run, but was going to play it by ear depending on how my legs felt since I ran last night. I ended up doing 3 miles in just under 33 minutes.

While I’m not a stranger to running in the morning, this run was a bit different.

I slowed down. My pace was nothing special. I averaged a 10:41 mile. I’ve been loving that my pace has been getting faster, but it actually felt good to slow down.

Sometimes you have to stop and smell the wild flowers.
Sometimes you have to stop and smell the wild flowers.

morning run 5.21 8

I looked and listened. Not listening to music gave me the opportunity to hear the birds chirping and to focus on the scenery around me. I run this route all the time, but I noticed more of my surroundings.

1676EAF7-700C-46C8-A9CA-750015758D47

I took pictures. It was a beautiful morning and I had to try to capture some of it. There’s even a scenic overlook on my route that I’ve never actually stopped at, but this morning I did.

morning run 5.21 6

morning run 5.21 4

morning run 5.21 5

Thank you, St. Paul, for having a purple water fountain on my route.
Thank you, St. Paul, for having a purple water fountain on my route.

I think I needed this run. It was good for me mentally and physically to slow down, look at the beauty around me, and appreciate the good things. I’ve always felt that running is therapeutic and good for the soul. Whether I’ve had a good day or a bad day, a run can help me get centered, sort through my emotions, and sometimes provide a brief escape when I need it.

Words of wisdom on a morning run.
Words of wisdom on a morning run.

 Is running ever therapy for your soul?

One thought on “Morning Run for the Soul

Leave a Reply

