Half Marathon Training – Week 9

Another solid week of training in the books. My half marathon is just 3 weeks away. I’ve been thinking about shooting for 10 minute miles, and I think it’s in reach if my training keeps up like it has. Here’s how the week went.

Monday – rest day

Tuesday – 5 miles, 10:10 avg pace 

Pretty standard, uneventful run.

Wednesday – 3.16 miles, 9:32 avg pace

I’m still not sure where this pace came from! Maybe it was knowing that I only needed to do 3 miles, or maybe it was knowing I had plans with a friend later so I wanted to get my run done and have time to get ready. I headed out and just felt really good on the whole run, so I went with it.

Thursday – beach volleyball

I fully intended to come home and get in a run before subbing on a friend’s volleyball team, but I was exhausted after work so I decided volleyball would suffice as a workout for that day. It was about 45 degrees when the game started and the sand was freezing! I opted to wear my socks and my toes were still numb at the end!

beachvball

The game was really fun despite the cold (and getting beat). Running in the sand was a good workout.

Friday – 2.5 miles, 10:20 avg pace

I actually opted for the treadmill for this workout. It was a bit cool and I just felt like getting in a quick run.

Saturday – 2.42 mile walk

I met up with a friend for a walk around the lake and a yummy lunch at Sandcastle. It was a beautiful day, so walking and eating outside was lovely, but getting to catch up with my friend was really the important part of the outing.

The Big Locus (TBL) - Thielens bacon, lettuce, & tomato
The Big Locus (TBL) – Thielens bacon, lettuce, & tomato
Chips and pico de gallo
Chips and pico de gallo

The rest of Saturday was spent grocery shopping, napping on the couch, and having dinner on a patio with my sister and a friend.

Sunday – 10 miles, 10:10 avg pace

I went to one of my favorite running spots for this long run. It was mid 50s and sunny. The lake was calm and peaceful.

nokomis1

My first lap around the lake was a bit sluggish and slow. Miles 1-3 were about a 10:30/mile pace. Not bad, but not as fast as I had been doing my long runs. When I started out on my second lap, my legs started to feel better and my pace picked up without me even realizing it. I told myself to slow down a little – it’s a marathon 10 mile run, not a sprint. Miles 4-7, I was hanging out between a 9:50 – 10:10 pace. Much better. I slowed down a bit for mile 8 (10:28). I had started to feel a couple aches and pains and wanted to make sure they didn’t stick around. My feet/legs started to feel better and miles 9 and 10 picked up to about 10 min/mile pace again.

nokomis2

I got home from my run, showered and got ready to head to the Twins game!

twinsgame

A perfect day for watching some baseball and stuffing my face. 🙂 Target Field is a good place to be when you have runger. I shared a helmet of nachos with my sister as my lunch and then we got ice cream for dessert.

twinsnachos  twinsicecream

Not the healthiest of options, but I balanced it out pretty well with other eating during the day – and of course that 10 mile run. Can’t help but splurge every now and then.

Do you have a favorite running spot? What do you like to splurge on every now and then? Do you have a favorite ballpark food?

One thought on “Half Marathon Training – Week 9

  1. SOUNDS LIKE A JOYFUL & PEACEFUL RUN!! THANKS FOR REMINDING US ALL TO SLOW DOWN & ENJOY THE BEAUTIFUL MIRACLES AROUND US!!

Leave a Reply

