Half Marathon Training – Week 8

Don’t worry, you didn’t miss weeks 1-7 of my half marathon training. I had been planning to do a half marathon in early June, but was focusing on training for my April races. So, I’ve jumped into half marathon training now. I picked things up with the Novice 2 plan from Hal Higdon, and it’s been going good so far. Here’s the recap of training and other fun stuff from last week.

Monday – Rest day

I had done a 9 mile run the day before, so I gave my legs a break. My sister and I walked around a bit doing some shopping and had to grab some frozen yogurt – my kind of Cinco de Mayo treat.

Cinco de Froyo anyone?
Cinco de Froyo anyone?

Tuesday – 5 mile run, 10:14 avg pace

The training plan called for a 3 mile run, but I had a work thing on Wednesday night, so I decided to try and do the 5 mile run for the week a day early. I felt good on this run.

Wednesday – Rest day

Thursday – 3 miles, 10:25 avg pace

I had to resort to the treadmill for this run because the weather wasn’t great.

Friday – Rest day

I hit the road right after work to head to my hometown for the weekend.

Saturday – Stroll in the Park for Epilepsy Foundation

The Stroll in the Park is a fundraising event that my family volunteers for every year. It raises money for the Epilepsy Foundation of Western Wisconsin. We arrived at the park at 8 a.m. I was in charge of manning the coffee and donuts table again this year. That means I get to keep my cup full of coffee, but also means I’m tempted by the yummy glazed donuts. The actual stroll is about a 1.3 mile walk around the park.

strollinthepark14

If mascots aren’t your thing, this walk isn’t for you. There are lots of them. 😛 Volunteering means I was on my feet from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m., so I was tired when we left the park.  It’s a fun event and the weather was beautiful!

Saturday night, we went to church and then headed to dinner at one of our family’s favorite restaurants for a great meal.

Blue Crab Cakes with lemon dill cream sauce
Blue Crab Cakes with lemon dill cream sauce
Proscuitto Filet with a Gorgonzola cheese sauce
Proscuitto Filet with a Gorgonzola cheese sauce

Sunday – 6.02 mile run, 10:14 avg pace; and 3.09 mile walk

I headed out for my run in the morning. The weather was gorgeous in the high 50s/low 60s. I wasn’t sure how this run would go given how much I was on my feet the day before, but my legs actually felt really good the whole time. I was excited to see that my average pace was around 10:15 for another longer run. I had been hanging out around 10:30/mile for a long time, so I feel like my long run pace is getting faster.

I came back home, showered, and then headed out with my parents to run a couple of errands and hit up another local park for a walk with the dog. We walked 3.09 miles, so I definitely got in the miles that day!

The rest of the afternoon was spent relaxing and cooking up a Mother’s Day dinner of chicken kabobs, grilled pineapple, and watermelon cake.

grilledpineapple

watermelon cake2

All in all, a solid week of training!

What races are you training for? Do you have an event that you participate in or volunteer at every year?

Leave a Reply

