Catching up on Cooking

I started out 2014 by setting a few goals for myself. One of those goals was to make at least one new recipe each month. (This is my attempt at becoming a better cook.) I did good in January and February, but then realized I missed March. But, I’ve been working on making up for it, and have made three new things recently.

The first was broccoli slaw “pasta.” Basically, it’s a pasta fake out. It’s simple, quick, and there are only a few ingredients. A recipe that’s right up my alley. Pick up a bag of broccoli slaw at the grocery store, put it in a skillet with 1/4 cup water and stir occasionally until the water evaporates and veggies soften.

broccoli slaw2

The recipe calls for using a canned tomato soup and a few spices, but I had spaghetti sauce in the fridge and just used that because it was essentially the same thing (and even easier!) Top it with a little grated parm cheese. I love pasta — especially before a race — but this is a great lighter option that can be a main dish or a side dish.

broccoli slaw1

The second recipe was Low Fat Lemon Crinkle Cookies. Yes, I said low fat and cookie in the same sentence! Lots of times that’s a sign of a not-so-great cookie, but these are sweet, light, and gooey. I think I’ve mentioned my love of lemon desserts, so I had to try these. All you need is lemon cake mix, cool whip, one egg, and powdered sugar. The recipe will warn you, but the dough is sticky, so use a spoon to help form each ball.

Hello lovelies
Hello lovelies

The recipe says it makes 24 cookies, but I ended up with twice as many! So, either way it makes a lot. These would be great for a summer dessert.

lemon crinkle cookies 2

The last new recipe was a watermelon cake for a Mother’s Day dessert. Yea, you read that right — watermelon cake. Cut the ends off a watermelon so it can lay flat and remove the rest of rind. The recipe I found called for coconut milk and a couple other ingredients for the “frosting,” but I just used cool whip and it worked perfectly.

watermelon cake1
So pretty!

My mom loves fresh fruit, so I knew this would be a great surprise for Mother’s Day. It’s super easy to do and would be perfect for lots of summer get togethers (hello 4th of July dessert!)

watermelon cake2   watermelon cake3

I’d  have to say that all of these recipes were successes. All of these recipes were Pinterest finds. I want to make at least one more new recipe in May, and I think I’m gonna consult my cookbooks to find an entrée to make so I can challenge myself with something a little more difficult.

Did you make anything special for Mother’s Day? What are some great recipes you’ve found on Pinterest?

8 thoughts on “Catching up on Cooking

      • I just used cool whip for the outside. It stayed on just fine, but I kept it in the fridge until we served it. (Made it about 2 hours before serving it.) We didn’t really have a problem with the juices from the watermelon. It was a nice ripe watermelon too, so doesn’t seem to be an issue.

  1. The watermelon cake was so wonderful and everyone I have shown the picture of it too were amazed!!! It was delicious!! And I am looking forward to trying to make the other recipes you posted!!

Leave a Reply

