Time to check in…and check out!

‘Runcation’ with Hyedi commences tomorrow, and I could not be more excited! The “It’s time to check in” email from the airline was pretty much the best news I received all day. So ready for a weekend away and my first race of 2014! It’s the Shamrock Shuffle 8K. I’ve only done one other 5 mile race, so I’m looking forward to running that distance again (not as a training run, that is).

I haven’t raced since Thanksgiving, so it’s been awhile since I’ve had to pick up a packet, explore an expo, and line up in the corral. Can already feel some pre-race nerves, but I think they’ll fade pretty quick once I get back in the routine. I’m not really planning to go too hard in this race. With Goldy’s 10 mile just a couple weeks away, I’ll probably treat this as more of a fun run.

I’ve spent the week preparing for the trip: getting in those last couple runs/workouts, laundry, making a packing list (so I don’t forget anything), and treating myself to a manicure.

I love the color!
I love the color!

Stay tuned for full recaps of the race and trip. And, because it’s Friday, had to have a little chocolate. 🙂

chocolate eggs

Anyone else racing this weekend?

Leave a Reply

