Outdoor Run = Happy Girl

Like a lot of the country, the so-called ‘Polar Vortex’ brought some seriously cold weather our way recently. The cold temps and snowy trails kept me inside for the last couple months, but today I emerged into the fresh air for an outdoor run. Temps were in the mid-30s and the sun was peeking through the clouds. Perfect.

I knew I missed running outside, but I don’t think I realized how much until my feet hit the pavement.

outdoor run 1.14

The path was mostly clear. There were some slushy areas where I slowed down a little, but nothing I couldn’t run through. (Though, I can feel a little soreness in my ankles tonight, and I think it’s from the slush – worth it.) I got in a solid 4.5 mile run. My RunKeeper was apparently mad that I hadn’t used it in a while because it was way off, particularly for the first mile. Then, I think it warmed up. But, my trusty Garmin was ready to go after being awaken from hibernation.

outdoor run 1.14 (2)

 

I hope the winter running gear doesn’t have to stay packed away too much more this year, but it is Minnesota, so who knows!

Did you get to run outside today?

One thought on “Outdoor Run = Happy Girl

Leave a Reply

