Crohn’s & Colitis Awareness Week Dec. 1-7

For those of you who have been stopping by for awhile, you might know that I have ulcerative colitis (UC) — an inflammatory bowel disease (IBD) that affects the large intestine (a.k.a. the colon) where the lining of the intestine becomes inflamed and develops tiny open sores, or ulcers. I had been living with UC for many years before I learned about the Crohn’s & Colitis Foundation of America. This organization funds research to find cures for Crohn’s disease and ulcerative colitis and works to provide services and education for those living with these diseases. At the same time I learned about CCFA, I discovered their Team Challenge program. I signed up to join them for their Las Vegas season and embarked on an amazing journey!

Finisher photo hi res

And met some wonderful people, many of whom also suffer from Crohn’s disease or UC.

Minnesota/Dakotas Team!
Minnesota/Dakotas Team!

This week is Crohn’s and Colitis Awareness Week (Dec. 1-7) and another opportunity to raise awareness about these chronic diseases. Awareness and advocacy initiatives have been going on all week across the country as well as here in Minnesota. Governor Mark Dayton signed a proclamation declaring it Crohn’s and Colitis Awareness Week in Minnesota and the I-35W bridge was lit up with blue and orange lights on Thursday, Dec. 5 in honor of the week! Go ‘like’ the photo on the Minnesota/Dakotas Chapter Facebook page!

Photo credit: Crohn's and Colitis Foundation America - Minnesota/Dakotas Chapter
Photo credit: Crohn’s and Colitis Foundation America – Minnesota/Dakotas Chapter

Social media has also been key in spreading the word about CCFA Awareness Week. I had a chance to check out a brand new Facebook app that CCFA launched. The app provides people with all the resources they need to share their story, learn about research, become an advocate, and more.

CCFA Awareness Week Facebook App
CCFA Awareness Week Facebook App

I clicked on the “Share your story” and learned that actress Amy Brenneman (from Judging Amy and Private Practice) also has UC.

"Share your story" page gives images, videos and sample messages for social media.
“Share your story” page gives images, videos and sample messages for social media.

I’m always so amazed to hear people’s stories. The more I learn about my disease and the more I talk about it, the more I find others who have IBD or know someone who does. I encourage you to learn more about Crohn’s and Colitis this week. Check out the CCFA Facebook page and share one fact that you learn with your network to help spread the word!

Do you or someone you know have Crohn’s disease or ulcerative colitis? 

2 thoughts on “Crohn’s & Colitis Awareness Week Dec. 1-7

  1. I remember reading a post you did about your brother. Very touching. I have a family member with epilepsy too and I know the Epilepsy Foundation has been a great resource for them. The more I get to know the CCFA community, the more I like it. Support is so important with diseases/conditions like these!

Leave a Reply

