Trying Something New

Now that all of my races for 2013 are done, my workout regimen is changing a bit. I don’t have a training plan to follow that lays out what runs I should be doing each week. I still want to run at least a couple times a week, but I’m looking forward to trying out some new/different workouts this winter. I’ve got access to a workout room, so I know I’ll do more workouts on the elliptical, treadmill, and stationary bike to help change things up. And doing some strength training to keep building off of my 30 day challenges.

I also want to try out some classes like spin, yoga, Zumba, pilates, etc. Winter is a great time to try out something new and see if I find something I like and want to continue on a regular basis.

So, when Hyedi emailed me that the studio she goes to, Revolution Cycle + Fitness Studio, was holding a special where guests can try out 2 of their classes I was super excited to give it a shot! I agreed to trying out the 6 a.m. spin class last Tuesday. I’m not usually a morning workout person, so it was tough to get up and get going, but as soon as the class started I woke up quick!

The instructor, Dawn, had a lot of energy and kept things moving at a good pace. They focus on intervals, so you go hard for a bit then get some time to catch your breath before picking up the pace again.

Another cool thing about the class was the bikes. They have RealRyder Indoor Cycles. These bikes can actually lean from side to side and you can turn the handlebar like you’re steering an actual bike. You have to engage your arms and core in order to lean, so you get a full-body workout.

It was a great workout! Definitely needed to have a towel and water within reach. It actually gave me an excuse to use my new Nuun water bottle that I got at the Las Vegas Half expo.

nuun bottle

I’m excited to try out another new class at the studio soon and get in another great winter workout.

Any suggestions for workouts or classes I should try this winter? Do you have a class, gym, or fitness studio that you love? 

3 thoughts on “Trying Something New

Leave a Reply

