December 30 Day Challenges

I’ve definitely been indulging in all the holiday food the past few days. This time of year seems to revolve around food whether it’s a work potluck, Christmas party, or holiday feast. I know December is going to continue to be a battle. I want to maintain a healthy diet but also be able to enjoy all of the holiday treats.

I’ve done a good job with getting in some physical activity the past few days, but I decided I wanted to step it up a bit for December to help combat the holiday temptations. I’m still trying to let my body recover after the half marathon in Las Vegas, so I probably won’t be running as much as I have been the last few months, but I’m going to commit to continuing to do at least a 30 minute workout 5 days a week in December.

One of my goals for 2014 is to get stronger and be more consistent with doing strength workouts. I’ve been wanting to do a 30 day plank challenge for a while and figured December is as good a time as any. I think having a plank to do every day would help me stay active throughout the month.

As I was researching 30 day plank challenges, I started seeing 30 day challenges for abs, arms, and legs too. So, in an attempt to really put my money where my mouth is (or maybe, Christmas cookie where my mouth is) I figured I might as well add on 30 day squat and push up challenges to kick start my 2014 strength training and hopefully end 2013 feeling fit.

I found a website called 30 Day Fitness Challenges and liked their plank, push up, and squat challenges, so I made myself a calendar combining all of the challenges so I know exactly what I need to do each day in December. I like having a piece of paper where I can cross off days and track my progress.

30 day challenges
Plans from 30dayfitnesschallenges.com

The best part about these 30 day plank, squat, and push up challenges is they don’t allow for any excuses. They don’t require any equipment. I can do them in my living room while watching TV or in the gym after a workout. I can also split them up. A plank in the morning before I go to work, squats during a commercial break, and push ups before bed is perfectly fine. As long as I do what’s on the schedule for that day.

So, the challenge starts today. I’ll report back with my progress each week. I’m super excited for this next month of holiday festivities and fun times with friends and family. I think doing these challenges will help me enjoy those times even more! đŸ™‚

Have you ever done a 30 day challenge? What are you doing to stay active in December? What’s your favorite holiday indulgence? 

15 thoughts on “December 30 Day Challenges

  1. I’ve done a 30-day yoga challenge… was super challenging and a lot of fun! Love that you’re combining challenges and that you have a calendar… great way to stay on top of it! I may join you on the plank a day đŸ™‚

    • Awesome! I’d like to try a yoga class this winter. I’ve done a few in the past but it’s been awhile so I’d like to give it a try again.

  2. […] 30 Day Challenges update – Week 4 is complete! I started breaking up the planks to reach my total time since I can’t seem to break the 2 – 2:30 minute mark. I’ve actually only got one more day to go and can happily say that I didn’t miss a day! I’ve greatly increased my plank time, upped the number of push-ups I can do, and can feel my legs getting stronger from all the squats. […]

Leave a Reply

