Half Marathon Goals

In just three short days I’ll be running my first half marathon (eeek!). Hard to believe the day is almost here after months of training.

I’ve been thinking a lot about what I want my goals for my first half marathon to be. I wanted to keep them realistic, but also challenge myself. I’ll be running my second half marathon in three weeks, so I also want to make sure my goals will allow me to adequately recover.

I’ve seen several other running bloggers talk about setting A, B, and C goals for a race. So, that’s what I’ve done.

  • A: Cross the finish line in 2 hours and 16 minutes or less (avg. pace ~ 10:20). I averaged 10:20 miles on my last 10.6 mile run and felt great, so I’d really like to repeat a similar pace on race day.
  • B: Run the whole way. With the exception of slowing down at water stops, I’d like to not have to stop and walk. I haven’t had to walk during any of my long runs in training, so I think this is very realistic as long as I don’t let my adrenaline get the better of me and start out too hard, too fast or something like that.
  • C: Finish. Period. Simple and straight forward, but also a really important goal for me since this is my first half.

Still keeping a close eye on the weather forecast so I can plan what I’m going to wear. Right now, Saturday is looking like a low of 29, high of 42 and partly cloudy with a 20% chance of rain. I can handle that. I’m okay with cold, just really hoping for no rain!

Do you set A, B, and C goals for races?

5 thoughts on “Half Marathon Goals

  1. I don’t set ABC goals for races, but my goals for my first half were similar to yours. My bit of advice to you, because I saw so many people fail massively at this during my half, was to start slow and finish strong, don’t let get caught up in adrenaline-fueled fast running at the start, you’ll burn yourself out! Good luck this weekend, looking forward to the race report!

Leave a Reply

