Braving the Elements

Mother Nature decided to bring in some cold, wet days this past weekend. Fall has definitely arrived in Minnesota!

Friday was chilly, but dry. Friday evening I went to see Wicked with my family. I’ve always wanted to see this musical, and it totally lived up to my expectations! If you get a chance to go see it, do it. Loved the sets, the costumes, the story, the comedy, and of course the music. Might be downloading the soundtrack very soon. 🙂

Defying Gravity
Defying Gravity

On Saturday, I did some shopping with my family in the morning and then planned to meet Hyedi for a short run in the afternoon. It was cloudy and I knew there was a slight chance of rain that afternoon, but I thought it was going to hold off. Literally as I was pulling in to the parking lot it started to sleet and rain. I met Hyedi and we waited a few minutes to see if it would let up, but no luck. We decided to postpone and I got in my 3 miles on the treadmill.

Rain and cold temps were in the forecast again for Sunday morning’s Team Challenge group run. I woke up about 6:30 a.m. and started to have a mental debate with myself about whether or not it was worth it to go.  It was 35 degrees with light rain. I kept checking the weather every five minutes (hoping it would magically change to 50 degrees and sunny — no such luck) and kept checking my email to see if the run would get canceled. The weather didn’t look great, but it also didn’t look like it was going to get any better during the day. I really didn’t want to do 7 miles on the treadmill if I could help it. So, I dragged myself out of bed, layered up, and headed out. I was impressed to see so many other Team Challengers there too!

I intended to just do a few miles outside and then sort of gave myself permission to cut out early and finish my miles inside if needed. The rain was lightly coming down, but it actually let up a lot for most of the run. That was a big help. I even took off one of my layers halfway through the run. The rain started coming down a bit harder for the last mile, so I was really happy to be done!

All smiles even though I felt like a cold, wet dog.
All smiles even though I felt like a cold, wet dog.

I missed the first 1/2 mile of my run, so the watch says 6.5 miles, but it was actually 7. I was proud of myself for braving the elements and getting the whole run done outside. Truthfully, I felt pretty bad a$$ running around the lake in the rain. I actually do like to get outside for a run even when it’s less-than-desirable conditions. If you dress appropriately, a run in the cold, or rain, or heat can actually be really rewarding. And good practice for races since I have yet to figure out how to control the weather. 😉

I came home and jumped in a hot shower and then made a fabulous cup of coffee to warm up. Warm comfort food was the theme of the day. Lunch was tomato soup and grilled cheese, and it seemed like the perfect night to make my first batch of turkey chili this season.

chili

Do you like running in the cold, rain, or heat? What’s your favorite cold weather comfort food?

4 thoughts on “Braving the Elements

    • Yes, avoiding ice is key! I have some running/bike paths near me that are kept pretty clear in the winter, so that’s really nice. Definitely recommend Wicked in the cities if you can get there!

Leave a Reply

