Vacation Running and My Happy Place

I was on vacation last week and it was glorious! It was my annual trip to Myrtle Beach with my family. This has been our family’s favorite vacation spot since I was little. Myrtle Beach is my happy place. It is so peaceful and relaxing to spend a week by the ocean. There is nothing better than listening to the sound of the waves, soaking up the sun, and enjoying time with family.

Myrtle Beach - My happy place :)
Myrtle Beach – My happy place ūüôā

Along with getting to relax and spend time with family (we had a lot of relatives from my mom’s side of the family there too!) I made sure to get in my runs to stay on track with my half marathon training. I knew I¬†had really become a¬†runner when in thinking about this vacation one of the first things I wanted to do was go for a run on the beach. ūüôā

On our second day there (Sunday), I got up and went for a 3.35 mile run on the beach. It was already getting hot and humid at 8:30 a.m., but felt great to be out on the beach running.

Morning run on the beach
Morning run on the beach

Monday was a cross training/strength day. I did some one-leg squats (per Coach Chris) and did some push ups and crunches. My family was planning to walk on the beach for exercise, but it was getting pretty hot by the time we were ready to get going, so my mom had the great idea to walk against the current in the lazy river! A great total-body workout to walk forward, backward, and swim against the current. Worked a lot of different muscles and stayed cool in the water.

Lazy river workout
Lazy river workout

Tuesday’s workout was speed work. I needed to do 5 x 400m intervals, so I decided to head to the workout room and do it on the treadmill so I could accurately measure the distance. Tough to be inside, but if you have to run on a treadmill you might as well have this view…

Nice view!
Nice view!

Wednesday was another morning run on the beach. A nice and easy 3.07 miles at a 10:10 pace to kick off the day.

I took Thursday off from running after staying out late spending time with family, but we did do a morning walk on the beach, so not a total loss.

I made sure to wake up a little early on Friday so I could get in one more beach run before vacation was over. Friday morning was gorgeous! It was 70 degrees, partly cloudy, not as humid, and there was a nice breeze. I ran 5.3 miles at a 10:24 pace. This run was good, but a little more challenging because the tide was in further than the other mornings. This meant there was less hard sand to run on, so for most of the run I was on wet sand or some of the softer, loose sand. I had to watch my footing  a little and weave around a bunch of jelly fish that had washed up on the beach overnight. Near the end of my run the tide was going out, so I finished strong.

Beach. Run. Love.
Beach. Run. Love.

I think my commitment to getting in my runs even while on vacation really helped keep me on track with my training. As I mentioned in Sunday’s post, I felt great on my 7 mile long run the day after we got back.

My vacation wasn’t all running. I had plenty of time to hang out with family, eat some amazing food, and relax¬†on the beach. The week went by way too fast. I can’t wait until next year!

Hush puppies! My absolute favorite and you get the best ones in the South!
Hush puppies! My absolute favorite and you get the best ones in the south!
Shark Tacos! (Cousins went deep sea fishing and caught shark. My cousin-in-law did an amazing job cooking it for tacos.)
Shark Tacos! (Cousins went deep sea fishing and caught shark. My cousin-in-law did an amazing job cooking it for tacos.)
Love my beach mug. Nothing better than drinking coffee on the balcony overlooking the ocean in the mornings.
Love my beach mug. Nothing better than drinking coffee on the balcony overlooking the ocean in the mornings.

Do you workout when you’re traveling or on vacation? What’s your favorite vacation spot?

4 thoughts on “Vacation Running and My Happy Place

  1. I love Mazatlan Mexico, my parents have had a time share there for 26 years and its very low key and comfortable, most of the staff has been there for at least 10 years so they remember you from trip to trip which makes it feel extra special.

  2. That sounds amazing! It’s fun to travel to new places, but I love having a spot you can go back to again and again and know you’re going to have a good time.

Leave a Reply

