Fun(draising) Friday 8/30/13

My fundraising is at an even $800! Thank you so much to everyone who has donated already! Since I’ve raised over $500, I was able to get my Team Challenge training shirt. They look pretty cool! I’m in the process of brainstorming some creative fundraising ideas to get my fundraising to the next level. What cool fundraising ideas have you seen?

Team Challenge training shirt
Team Challenge training shirt

Whew, it’s still hot here! Had to do an evening tempo run on the treadmill this week since it was so hot out. The treadmill is fine, but I definitely prefer to be outside. I was able to get in a morning run yesterday (Thursday) while it was a little cooler. Still pretty humid (even after we got some rain overnight), but was nice to do my 3 mile run out in the morning air. I had a chance to test out my new running shorts from Athleta. In support of the start of Gopher football season last night, I also wore my Minnesota shirt from the Big Ten 10K. Must have been good luck because the Gophers did win. 🙂

Go Gophers! And new shorts!
Go Gophers! And new shorts!

The shorts fit well and are a good length for running. One thing I didn’t realize until I put them on is they don’t have a zipper pocket like my other pair of Athleta shorts, but that’s why I have my SPIbelt. I thought this was a good plan, but then realized the slippery fabric of the shorts was making my SPIbelt move around a little while running. May need to tighten the belt if I wear it with these shorts in the future. I think I’ll keep the shorts, but that’s one thing I love about Athleta is they have a “Give it a workout guarantee.” If you don’t love it, you can return it for free. I feel a lot better about spending a little more money on quality workout clothes knowing I can return them if they’re not perfect because no matter how much you jog in place in the fitting room, you don’t really know how things (like shorts) are going to work until you actually run in them.

Well, I’m looking forward to this heat wave being over. While I’ll be sad to say good-bye to summer, I do LOVE fall! (Can you believe September is a day away?!) The start of football season is making me want fall weather even more. Fall is my favorite season for so many reasons, and I’m looking forward to some fall running and getting to cap off the season with my two half marathons!

What’s your favorite season? Are you excited for football?

2 thoughts on “Fun(draising) Friday 8/30/13

Leave a Reply

