Beat the Heat

It’s hot out there today! Glad I got my run in this morning before the thermometer hit 90 degrees (and kept climbing).

Sunday mornings are our group runs for Team Challenge. I’ve had to miss the last two weeks, so I was excited to be able to make it today. We met at Como at 8 a.m. to run around the lake. The training schedule called for a 6 mile run, so that meant four laps around the lake. It was already 80 degrees when we started running. Thank goodness for a nice breeze and some decent shade on the path. I made sure to bring my handy-dandy water bottle with me for today’s run.

Hydrate! Hydrate! Hydrate!
Hydrate! Hydrate! Hydrate!

Of course, I had to refill a few times at the water fountain, and I definitely splashed some cool water on my face a couple times. I felt good on my run. My legs were a little tired for the first mile, but then I hit my stride. The lake was great to run around and I was very tempted to just jump in after the run–would’ve been refreshing. 😉

Our clinic after the run was on massage/bodywork. Meredith, a certified massage therapist, talked a little bit about massaging our muscles to alleviate soreness. Along with just using your hands to massage your muscles, she talked about using a foam roller, tennis ball, or other ball. I’ve used a tennis ball to massage the bottom of my feet (especially the arch) when they get sore. We’ll be having a special clinic to talk about foam rolling soon that I’m looking forward to.

I got home and guzzled down some water with nuun to replenish some electrolytes after sweating a lot on that run.

Tri-berry is my fav flavor (so far).
Tri-berry is my fav flavor (so far).

Not looking forward to it being really hot this week. Might have to move some runs inside to the treadmill or make myself get up early for a morning run.

What do you do to beat the heat? Do you run with water?

Leave a Reply

