Training is Underway

My training for the Las Vegas half marathon with Team Challenge is officially underway! Training for a half marathon with Team Challenge has some great benefits. We have a coach (Coach Chris) to help us with our training, answer questions, and provide support. I’m really excited to have Coach Chris’ help as I’ll be training for my first half marathon (Monster Dash Half) taking place just three weeks before Las Vegas. So, she can help me personalize the training plan to make sure I’m ready for both races.

A nice thing about Team Challenge is runners/walkers of all levels can participate. There are training plans for beginner, intermediate, and advanced runners. Each training plan incorporates running and/or walking, cross training, and strength training. Some people are training to walk the half marathon, some will be doing a run/walk combo, and others are training to run the whole thing. I definitely want to run the entire 13.1 miles, and I’m still trying to decide what kind of time goal I want to set for myself.

We have group runs every Sunday. This is when we do our long run for the week. It’s a great time to connect with other participants in Team Challenge and work with Coach Chris. Another thing I’m excited about for Sunday runs are the “clinics” they incorporate into each week. We’ll cover things like proper shoes, hydration, strength training, nutrition, and more. I’m really looking forward to learning new stuff in these clinics to help improve my running and aid my training.

We had our first group run this past Sunday. We met at the Como Pavilion at 8 a.m. to run around the lake. The long run for this week was 3 – 4 miles. I did a nice 3.5 miles at a 10:38 pace. I had never run around this lake before and I really liked the path. It’s about 1.5 miles to go around the lake once. It was a gorgeous morning for a run!

Como lake 1

Como lake 2

After everyone was done with their run/walk around the lake, we met up to go over some strength training moves to work on this week. We did some lunges, squats, planks, and bridges. The great thing about these moves is you can do them anywhere because they don’t require any equipment! Not gonna lie, did my strength moves in front of the TV last night. But hey, I got them done. 🙂

Anyone else ever do push ups, crunches, squats, or other strength moves while watching TV?

6 thoughts on “Training is Underway

  1. I always do my strength training in front of the TV. I do a lot of the same exercises and a few more with hand weights, bands, and a ball. It’s nice to not have to fight for floor space or equipment at the gym. I also feel like I have no excuses if I was going to watch TV anyway.
    BTW, I grew up running around Como Lake. My parents still live about a mile from the lake and I would run to the lake, once around and back. It’s a great area.

    • That’s awesome! I like trying out new places to run. Our group runs will move around each week, so I’ll get to try a lot of new places.

  2. Excited to follow your progress! Great idea getting a coach… having one has helped my running improve tremendously! Also, I’ve lived in Saint Paul for five years and have never ran around Como… that needs to change! Have a great weekend of running 🙂

Leave a Reply

